Product:
Waxworms
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 15 reviews.

More Products By Timberline Live Petfoods:
Mealworms
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 37 reviews.

See all (2) ›

Similar Products:
Crickets
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 29 reviews.

Fluker's Laboratories High-Calcium Cricket Feed
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Superworms
Rating: 4.4

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

7 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kirsten
Flag
Rating: 4

Junk food!

posted 6 years ago

My reptiles love waxworms. I give these to them as a treat and to stimulate a feeding response in sickly reptiles. They are mainly just water and fat...not much nutrition in these guys. Not a good live staple feeder. But a good treat, dust them well with a calcium and vitamin supplement.

Pros: my reptiles love them

Cons: very fatty not much nitritional value

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Coyoteluver
Flag
Rating: 5

Mmmmm

posted 6 years ago

Many reptiles love waxworms. Infact they will always almost eat these before anything else. This is because they are high in fat content and are not very good for the reptile. They are good as a treat but not as a staple food. I would not recomment buying large quantities of these at a time because you won't use them all. Do NOT feed these to your reptiles all the time. They can become addicted to them and ignore all other types of food. I give them these maybe once a week.

Pros: Good treat for reptiles

Cons: Use only as a treat!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

ChestersFan
Flag
Rating: 2

Finding live waxworms

posted 5 years ago

My leopard gecko is a rescue. She was 3 when I got her, and the only food she will eat is waxworms. I dust them with calcium & vitamins. The problem is that all the pet stores put them in the refrigerator & they can't tolerate the low temperature. Thaw them out & you have warm dead waxworms. Petco, PetSmart -- they both do the same thing. Why??!! Very frustrating!

Pros: gecko loves them

Cons: low temps kill them

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

bianca n.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for my gecko!

posted 5 years ago

Great! For the same size ( length ) as some mealworms, they give alot more nutrience! Just started using them the other day. I thought he would be a little confused but he ate them right up with no troubles. He loves them.

Pros: Great use becasue of the national mealworm shortage

Cons: 4.57 for a pack of 50 at PETCO

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

TheBing
Flag
Rating: 5

Great TREAT

posted 6 years ago

Shouldn't be a staple diet. Reptile need a variety in their diet. Softbody so it is easy to digest. Great way to get a picky eater to eat. Keep your waxworms in the refrigerator, they do not need to be fed anything.

Pros: HIGH IN FAT

Cons: HIGH IN FAT

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›