Product:
Puppies for Dummies, 2nd Edition
Rating: 4.0

Average rating from 29 reviews.

Similar Products:
Guide to Raising A Puppy- KISS Guides
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Before and After Getting Your Puppy, by Dr. Ian Dunbar
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 24 reviews.

Eternal Puppy by Janice Willard, DVM
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

18 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Matt A.
Flag
Rating: 5

All kinds of great advice for those who don't know much about puppies

posted 6 years ago

This book is great for anyone thinking about getting a puppy. I wish it dealt more with recommending adoption in place of breeding, but tehres still lots of great advice and laid out very well.

Pros: Information laid out very clearly, lots of great advice

Cons: Stresses breeding more then adopting, but thats ok

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Richie0930
Flag
Rating: 5

Helpful!

posted 7 years ago

they help people realize how much puppies rely on us, and they teach people how to care for there pets.

Pros: they teach people more about puppies!

Cons: none

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

betty p.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great teacher

posted 6 years ago

I love all the Dummie books that I have. I picked up the Puppies for Dummies book and took it to the prison. Our shelter had a prison program where the inmates foster some of our dogs, teach them basic commands and work on housebreaking.

We also have a puppy unit. Mommy dogs with nursing pups, bottle babies, or pups under 3 months old are usually in this unit. There is 3 cells (soon to be 4). So when we started the puppy unit, the guys asked for books. This was the first one I got.

I like the way the information is written and I knew the inmates would be able to understand it without needed a college degree.

Puppies for Dummies is a great book that I recommend.

Pros: info is great, well written

Cons: can't think of any

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Reneeb8888
Flag
Rating: 5

Need to read

posted 7 years ago

Any book that is made for dummies worries me. I have looked at this book at a friend's house and it is kind of amusing. It is great to think everything will go text book, but it doesn't. The book gives good guidelines on many of the training techniques to help in the awful job of puppy training. After adopting an adult dog, and looking at all the work that's involved in puppy training, I'll continue to adopt adult dogs.

Pros: good ideas

Cons: ideas don't always work

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Klfowler
Flag
Rating: 4

Book for new Puppy Family

posted 7 years ago

This book is great as reading material for new puppy owners. I do hope that when read the new family will keep an open mind that everyone and every puppy is an individual.

Not everything in this book is right or will work with each new puppy. Lots of good things to comtemplate!

Pros: Lots of helpful advice

Cons: Everything you read isn't always right

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›