Product:
Nail Grinder Dremel
Rating: 3.7

Average rating from 26 reviews.

Similar Products:
Medistyp Powder w/Benzocaine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

MediStyp Holder
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Dremel Multi-Pro 120V
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

18 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Ryan
Flag
Rating: 2

Not practical...

posted 6 years ago

Not worth it. Dremels are good but for nails....I dont think so.

Pros: This does not seem like a practical tool..for nails

Cons: Loud and expensive.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Briarwood
Flag
Rating: 4

We started out with this one

posted 6 years ago

We first learned about dremelling nails on discussion boards and followed the instructions on dober dawn's website. They were excellent instructions!

I was very happy to have this solution for dogs with black nails since I am scared to cut into their quick.

We started out with this version of dremel since it was labelled as being specifically for pet nails (and it was easily found at our local stores). This was our primary nail tool for over a year. I like the convenience of batteries because although we upgraded to the rechargeable kind, when that battery goes dead, we pull this one out and just keep going.

I know that the lower rpm's are designed to first of all be more quiet and not scare the dogs as much until they get used to it. Also, it keeps the heat down (the nails can get hot if the grinder is kept on them for too long at a time). However, after using the upgraded version, I feel that with the smaller dogs, at least, the faster rpm's make the nail session over in a jiffy and so far we've been good about not allowing a nail to get too hot.

I now have both nail tools and am very happy with both of them. They are an important part of our everyday life!

Pros: Easy to use, use of batteries is convenient

Cons: Prefer faster rpm's

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Smilingk9
Flag
Rating: 3

Clipping was easier

posted 6 years ago

My labby was particularly difficult about having his nails cut when I first adopted him. I decided to buy one of these grinders thinking that might be a bit less stressful and get the job done. Wrong. The kit was costly around $70 and I never even got close to getting all of my dog's nails done. It does work to file the nails but the noise (and boy is it loud) scares every living thing within the house. I managed to get it on one of his nails and it did file it down but then I couldn't get near the others. I decided to go back to just clipping his nails.

Pros: effective at filing nails

Cons: noise, cost, time

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

judy
Flag
Rating: 5

Sounds most excellent!

posted 6 years ago

This sounds fantastic!
Blaze HATES to get his nails clipped!
I will try this and use it on my neighbor's dog first, who is really easy ... then I'll try it on Blaze.
thanks for the recommendation

Pros: sounds like a nice alternative to clipping

Cons: get used to it ...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Carol L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great product, fast , no cutting the quick

posted 5 years ago

I was trying to purchase one of the other products for nail trimming when I asked my Vet what they use, they said they have been using the Dremel for years. I got one and tried it, I did one paw on each dog to see how they would like it, not that they were overjoyed but they don't like their nails cut anyway. None of them seemed to mind, it is over in a hurry. You do just 1-2 second bursts so the nail does not get hot. No rough edges and no splinting, just nice a clean rounded nails. Since magunda just went to the VET because she broke a nail all the way back and it cost me nearly $ 200.00 - I thought I better get something that I can use and will work good and take care of my babies so this does not happen again. I always hesitated when clipping with nail trimmers but I feel really good about using this

Pros: love this for my dogs, low noise and quick

Cons: none

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›