Product:
lions of the darkness
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 77 reviews.

More Products By National Geographic Society:
Relentless Enemies
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Complete Birds of North America
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Kids National Geographic
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 10 reviews.

See all (11) ›

Similar Products:
HORNS, HUMPS, AND HOOKS
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 13 reviews.

eternal enemies
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 12 reviews.

The Omnivore's Dilemma
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 18 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

77 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 16 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Veronica (Ronnie) G.
Flag
Rating: 5

A family of lions

posted 5 years ago

I got this video out of the library. I am fascinated by animal behavior, esp. a "family." In this case, a "pride" of lions. This documentary follows their life with joy and tragedy, esp. the little one. It was heartwarming and sad to watch how a pride is a family.

I also loved the documentary, "Living With Wolves." It follows a pack/family of wolves for 6 years. Jamie And Jim Dutcher lived with and filmed the wolves, Idaho. The family life, interaction was amazing. Beautiful.

However, I have to say, although loving these videos, there are parts that I need to close my eyes. Killing and so on. But I recommend to all. We need to learn to understand.

Pros: Animal Behavior

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DawnG01
Flag
Rating: 5

Love Nat Geo DVD's

posted 5 years ago

I so enjoy National Geographic. I subscribe to the magazine. I buy many National Geographic DVD's too, as I so enjoy watching them over and over...and with my pre-school son.

I found "Lions of the Darkness" to be an unbelievable documentary of a pride...a family of lions, and what eventually happens to the "family."

But I would not let my young son watch this one. Uplifting but too very sad and scary in parts, for a young boy.

I found a lot of similarity with wild horses and wolves as with the family life style and dynamics of the lions

Pros: Educational

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Joe C.
Flag
Rating: 5

My favorite sandwich shop has old copies of the NG

posted 5 years ago

My favorite sandwich shop which looks out over the lake and has a cute counter where you can watch the traffic and the lake while you wait for your order or eat has tons of old NG magazines to browse. Checked this one out when I was at the shop one day and what a great study....absolutely fascnating to follow the whole pride and see what happens.

NG for the most part is a great organization and they do great work.

Pros: fascinating, can't put it down

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stevecat511
Flag
Rating: 5

Magnificent learning

posted 5 years ago

The Jouberts are so talented. This is yet another one of their works of art.

Seeing the lions and their living is one one hand, truly amazing. On the other, it is sometimes hard to watch or fathom. The struggles and such were painful.

I would recommend any older animal lover watch this. However, I would not advise them to allow children to see it. Just a tad too graphic for them.

Pros: Awesome documentary

Cons: Not suitable for young audiences

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

SweetieKisses
Flag
Rating: 5

Educational

posted 5 years ago

National Geographic has been in our home for many a year an we have boxes and boxes of old National Geographic in storage. This particular one I bid/won several copies of the -Lions of the Darkness- listed on e-bay. This article is a favorite, like that youtube of "Christian the Lion". If you haven't watched it before, google it, watch it.

Pros: Great Reading

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 16 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›