Product:
loose ring snaffle
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 42 reviews.

More Products By none:
Dog Days by Jon Katz
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Shed Stop Dietary Suppliment
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Furiliminator
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 12 reviews.

See all (11) ›

Similar Products:
Journeyman Chaps
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Iberian II half chaps
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Riding Helmets
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 37 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

26 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Xiney
Flag
Rating: 4

Just some thoughts from me

posted 6 years ago

i like d ring snaffles, no pinching possible.
also, i like the french link snaffle type best.
no nutcruncher action inside the mouth with the 3rd link.
squeeze a regular snaffle in your hand to feel how it can be uncomfortable.
have a loose ring for my draft (only kind i could find for his size)
for that, i use those round bit guards.
cheap, can be found in rubber, or easier to use neoprene with a velcro closure that can be put on after bridle is on.

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-10-18 23:38:38 GMT]:
meant to say eggbutt not d ring.
like both, but prefer eggbutt.

Pros: snaffle bits are kind in the right hands

Cons: loose ring can pinch where bit meets ring

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bella C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Fantastic bit VERY soft.

posted 5 years ago

If you have a horse with a sensitive mouth this bit is for you. This was the first bit I ever bought and I still use it! The loose ring part helps wiggle the bit causing the horse to soften into contact. The jointed part in the middle helps directing the horse without confusion. Good also if your horse has a hard mouth they'll get used to this and gradually soften their mouth. Bit guards recommended.

Pros: Its softness

Cons: Its softness

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Alyssa T.
Flag
Rating: 5

Best bit for a new horse!

posted 5 years ago

I think a loose ring snaffle is definetly the way to go when starting horses, and even when riding the experience horse. It offers great control for a horse that has been trained to respond. Instead of using leverage to make your horse listen, you get a soft and supply response.

Pros: Easy on the horses, great for riders with tougher hands,

Cons: cannot use in western classes due to regulations.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mindy P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Harley loves this bit!

posted 5 years ago

My mare Harley has a very soft mouth and for this reason I use a loose ring frensh berdoon snaffle. I have tried other bits but Harley seems to enjoy the loose ring the best. I also ride two other horses in similar bits and find them more supple and relaxed when riding.

Pros: soft bit

Cons: pinching

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rwolfe88
Flag
Rating: 5

Love the D Ring Snaffle

posted 5 years ago

I prefer the D ring snaffle for any of the horses that I ride. I havent had much time to ride lately with work and school, but this is what I have always ridden in. I think that a lot of the bits available on the market today can be harsh or not fit well in the horses mouth. I ride English and prefer this to one pieces or other types of bits.

Pros: No Pinching, No squeesing, Gentle.

Cons: NONE!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›