Product:
Phoenix Worms
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Similar Products:
15-Day Gecko Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

All Natural Juvenile Iguana Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Crab Island Fruit and Flower Crab Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

8 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kirsten
Flag
Rating: 5

Best worms!

posted 7 years ago

Phoenix worms are a great live feeder. They are packed with calcium so you don't need to dust them with calcium before feeding to your reptile. I gave them to my baby bearded who was sickly and was too weak to catch crickets. They are really wriggly and stimulated her feeding response. And they don't jump or move as quickly as crickets. They are more expensive though than crickets and are not ideal as a staple live food for large lizards such as an adult bearded dragon. But they are great for baby dragons or small lizards.

Pros: wriggly, no refrigeration, no calcium dusting needed, and they make no noise!

Cons: can be expensive and they are small

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Taly E.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great stuff!

posted 5 years ago

I really like these worms!
I bought them for my Crested Geckos as a live meal to alternate between their normal food... it took them a little while to get used to the idea of switching to worms from crickets, but now they love them! They're a wonderful source of calcium and proteins, especially for breeding animals who need the extra boost. And the small size is small enough to feed to hatchlings!

My only real complaints is - very hard to find a local pet store who sells these worms, so you have to order them online, and usually need to get more than 1 cup(100 per cup) to order.
Also, I have two Blue Tongued Skinks, but these worms are a little too small for them... but they seem to enjoy them anyway!

Oh! Make sure that when you place them in a dish, that there is no moisture or water drops or anything on the dish, because they can climb out if there's water!

Pros: High in calcium, last a long time, don't need to refrigerate.

Cons: Can't find in local pet stores, a little too small for larger reptiles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kodeneal
Flag
Rating: 5

Best Worms, EVAH

posted 5 years ago

These little worms are the larvae of the soldier fly. They will not infest your home!! They are very plump and wiggly, so they attract your animal's attention quickly and easily. They must be very yummy, too, as my animals will fly across their vivs to get them.

The Doctor that grows and sells these is very knowledgeable and helpful. You can get them through other vendors, but they are the healthiest and fattest when you get them from phoenixworm.com.

I, unfortunately, stopped using them, as my beardie is getting much bigger, so she could eat an entire tub in a day.

Pros: Easy to keep, very healthy

Cons: small, a bit expensive

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Littlelove45744
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for Calcuim!

posted 6 years ago

These worms are great for a beardie with MBD. They are packed with calcuim. My only complaint is that they are too small, so my adult beardies don't like them as well as a super worm.

Pros: Extremely Healthy

Cons: Too small

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anthony C.
Flag
Rating: 5

A great source of vitamins and proteins

posted 5 years ago

If any reptile keeper hasnt tried them yet Id suggest trying Phoenix worms as opposed to wax worms they are loaded with the right amount of nutrients and calcium for your reptile and my bearded dragon loves them.

Pros: Loaded with nutrition

Cons: dont last very long before they cocoon or die

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›