Product:
Don't Shoot the Dog by Karen Pryor
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Similar Products:
Clifford's Tummy Trouble (Clifford the Big Red Dog (Turtleback))
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 21 reviews.

The Atlas Of Dog Breeds Of The World 5th ed.
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Paws & Effect
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

18 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Anne S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Must read for positive reinforcement clicker training

posted 5 years ago

Dr. Pryor's background was marine training and learned how effective marking wanted behavior and giving rewards to the dolphins helped them learn faster and were more consistent in giving the desired behavior. She translated what she learned into a great book that will help anyone train using positive reinforcement and clickers. Must read!

Pros: Easy to read, follow and understand the concepts of positive reinforcement training

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ali B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Positive Reinforcement!

posted 6 years ago

I love Karen Pryor. She is such an amazing trainer, it is a shame that more people don't know about her and her methods. Clicker training is so great and the book shows not only how to begin clicker training, but why it works.

Pros: Give a new perspective on our behavior

Cons: slow read, sometimes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stacy H.
Flag
Rating: 5

My Vet recommended this book

posted 5 years ago

My Vet recommended this book to me and I liked it a lot. Very easy concepts. A lot of it seemed liked common sense to me, but some might find it enlightening.

Pros: Easy to understand

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dewitt G.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great book for anyone who trains dogs

posted 5 years ago

This is a "must read" book for anyone training dogs and especially those using clicker training. Shoot, it's a good book for "training" kids and spouses as well but don't tell them that.

Pros: Excellent intro to training methods and clicker training

Cons: Could include more specific training methods

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Amy
Flag
Amy
Rating: 5

Great book

posted 6 years ago

I believe training is something that is different for each dog. i have read many different dog training books and have to say that these methods are pretty good.

Pros: some great training methods

Cons: not all methods work for all dogs

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›