Product:
Don't Shoot the Dog by Karen Pryor
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Similar Products:
Clifford's Tummy Trouble (Clifford the Big Red Dog (Turtleback))
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 21 reviews.

The Atlas Of Dog Breeds Of The World 5th ed.
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Paws & Effect
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

18 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
daryl b.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great

posted 5 years ago

most people have ther own ideas of how to correct bad behaviour in their dogs. if they shw bad behaviour some will tiethem up forever, some will drop them off at shelters and some will just drop them anywhere. this is a good book for those who love their dogs and really want to work with them to keep them. there was a journal in here from a woman who worked with her dog for 12 years with a biting problem befor she had to put him down. that was dedication which is what is what is needed with anything you want to do. this book teaches you to have a better chance to be ble to live in harmony with your dog. please those with problems go to the library if you have to. do all you can to get this book which will help you and your problem dog.

Pros: lot of good info

Cons: may not be everyones cup of tea

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Laura
Flag
Rating: 5

Karen Pryor has lots of insight about training dogs & people

posted 6 years ago

My first contact with the writing of Karen Pryor was in 1974 while I was attempting to learn to breastfeed my baby girl. Karen's book, called Nursing Your Baby was immensely helpful to me at a time when not many mother were attempting to breastfeed.
Fast forward a few years, and she appeared again with the book, Don't Shoot the Dog. It's so insightful and helpful in using positive reinforcement to train your dog.

Pros: very interesting, contains psycological & conditioning insight

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sherry
Flag
Rating: 5

The Beginning of it All

posted 5 years ago

I love this book. The way she writes is SO easy to read. Other authors seem to think that no one could understand them so the extrapolate on an idea over and over. She cuts to the chase and does it quickly.

A great read for anyone who doesn't like it when they feel they have to "get mean" in order to get their dog (or any other animal) to do what they want.

This was the book that started it all back in the day. I recommend it still.

Pros: positive methods

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mary Anne H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works on people too!

posted 6 years ago

Karen Pryors theories on training are applicable to dogs and people. This book wil give you in depth understanding on how we all respond to positive and negative reinforcement.

Pros: Easy read, great information

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anthony G.
Flag
Rating: 5

The go to book on clicker training

posted 6 years ago

This truly is, in my opinion, the go to book on clicker training and dog training in general. Karen Pryor makes the principles of clicker training easy to understand and a pleasure and rewarding to use. This book is loaded with information on dog training in general. My wife and I have numerous books on dog training. If I could only have one, this would be it.

Pros: Easy to read, explains how dogs learn, how to teach and how to get the behavior you desire

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›