Product:
Dog Painting 1840-1940
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Similar Products:
Don't Shoot the Dog by Karen Pryor
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Clifford's Tummy Trouble (Clifford the Big Red Dog (Turtleback))
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 21 reviews.

The Atlas Of Dog Breeds Of The World 5th ed.
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

6 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
DDRau
Flag
Rating: 5

A Presentation of of the dog in art

posted 5 years ago

This book is subtitled "A social history of the dog in art". Secord traces the history of dogs starting from pre-historic times, through the days of Pompeii and fall of Rome, and into the 1700s when dog paintings really began to flourish. Lovely color prints of many famous paintings including those by Wardle, Landseer, Maud Earl, and Binks, just to name a few. Great addition to a serious collection of dog art books.

Pros: History of the dog in art

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

BuilderBob
Flag
Rating: 5

A History of Dog Art

posted 5 years ago

Secord does a great job in tracing the history of the dog paintings. Starts with the Greeks and goes thru modern artists. Many pictures, a lot in black and white. Excellent reference book and looks great on the coffee table too. Makes a nice gift for the dog lover in your life.

Pros: Complete reference book on dog paintings

Cons: expensive

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Meg S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful book!

posted 5 years ago

Bill Secord is one of the most knowledgeable on period art of the dog than anyone I have ever met! He has a marvelous gallery in NYC. If you are looking for a particular breed of dog to be featured in the art piece, then Bill is your man. This book is a phenomenal example of his knowledge in this area.

Pros: none

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

merle w.
Flag
Rating: 5

History

posted 5 years ago

Good look at how past generations viewed their animals. Can also see how the artist have improved in painting accurately the animals.

Pros: good social history also

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Carolyn C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Beautiful coffee table book

posted 5 years ago

very interesting and beautiful book for browsing.

Pros: Lovely illustrations

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›