Product:
Purina Equine Senior
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 99 reviews.

More Products By Purina:
Purina JM Canine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

healthy life nutrition
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Purina One Hairball relief
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (279) ›

Similar Products:
Purina Amplify
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 48 reviews.

Equine Jewel Rice
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 24 reviews.

lmf low carb grain
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 24 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

62 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 13 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jean C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Old horse loves his complete feed

posted 5 years ago

I have been using different feeds to see what works best with my 29 year old horse. He is a slow eater and enjoys every mouthful. He is just starting to shed well now and there is no sign of him being thin, which I was fearing since I was not aware a glutton of a mare was chasing him away from his food and stuffing it into herself! She is fat as a pig, meaning the old horse did well on far less than he really should have had.

I now shut that mare away so he can enjoy his chow without interruption.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-03-30 01:53:49 GMT]:
I've never been dissatisfied with a Purina product.

Pros: Hay is optional, digests well

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cherie  F.
Flag
Rating: 5

Equine Senior food for all ages

posted 6 years ago

I had to use Equine Senior on my fillies instead of Equine Junior. The Equine Senior hyped them up and they actually burned more calories and lost weight. A friend advised using Equine Senior instead, and they have been doing great. They get the nutritional value and retain the nutrients. They love the flavor!

I have also seen many rescued horses gain substantial weight on Equine Senior with less chance of colic. It can be made into a mush for horses with dental problems.

Pros: Good food for all ages of equines

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kimberly B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great product

posted 6 years ago

I fed this to a mare that came in probably 400 lbs under weight. Using this feed, corn oil, and apple sauce and a lot of care - the mare became a golden beautiful girl again and a new riders favorite pal.

Pros: Great Horse feed for malnurished animals

Cons: none noted

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Shaklana
Flag
Rating: 5

Great feed for old horses

posted 6 years ago

I love equine Senior. This stuff is a great feed and holds weight on the hardest horses to feed. I have never had a horse turn its nose up at it, and it puts great coats on the horses on it. It is a complete feed and needs to be fed in large enough quantities to provide a complete diet. If only used as a supplement to hay, if not fed enough it doesn't provide the full range of vitamins and minerals. In this case a concentrated diet is more beneficial. I love this feed, it is a little costly, but worth is if you need to replace hay in your Senior Horses diet.

Pros: Very paletable, works great as a complete feed

Cons: Price

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dan W.
Flag
Rating: 4

A good feed

posted 6 years ago

This is a good horse feed. We use it at the OSU vet teaching hospital for older pateints and patients that need to put on weight.
It can be added to water to form a mash for horses with teeth problems.
It is a very safe food because most of the calories come from fat, rather than starch, which can make colic and other digestive problems worse.

Pros: High fat, high fiber, a very energy dense ration with lots of starch

Cons: somewhat expensive

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 13 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›