Product:
Purina Equine Senior
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 99 reviews.

More Products By Purina:
Purina JM Canine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

healthy life nutrition
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Purina One Hairball relief
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (279) ›

Similar Products:
Purina Amplify
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 48 reviews.

Equine Jewel Rice
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 24 reviews.

lmf low carb grain
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 24 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

62 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 13 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Julie
Flag
Rating: 5

Perfect Feed For Older Horses

posted 6 years ago

We tried this feed when Purina came out to talk to my daughter's 4H Group. He told us about the lifestyle feeds and asked if anyone had any older horses. All the kids "Volunteered" my old baby, PJ, who was about 21 at the time. We did a performance test on PJ for Purina to gauge the effects of the feed on older horses. This was in 1990. We kept PJ on the Senior Feed. He was still being ridden on long trails, shows, and fun classes, right up until his 32nd birthday. I rode him two weeks before he had a stomach cancer rupture, requiring us to put him down. If it had not ruptured, PJ would have been looking to trail ride the next day. He loved to go, and always did. I credit his long life to Senior feed, good vet & farrier care, and lots of exercise. I wish I still had him.
The feed was tasty to him, and he digested it very well.

Pros: Keeps Senior Horses Healthy!

Cons: High cost

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

PurplePoe
Flag
Rating: 3

Not that Great

posted 7 years ago

My 20-ish year old saddlebred actually lost weight on this formula. I put him on Kent's Triple Crown Senior and he did a heck of a lot better.

Pros: Widely available

Cons: Didn't work well for my senior

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Vanrigs
Flag
Rating: 3

Old guy

posted 6 years ago

my horse shotgun is 15 .we give him this to keep him in good shape. he's faster than alot of our younger horses. very strong and healthy.

Pros: good for shotgun.

Cons: none.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Nicole V.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Choice

posted 6 years ago

I used this feed for one of my senior horses and I recommend it to other horse owners. It's really a great feed for the less active horse. One of my horses was injured a few years ago and had to be kept in a stall for a short time to help the healing process. We fed him this senior feed, since he was less active during this time, and it really helped him tremendously during his time of healing. A definite good buy!

Pros: Great for Senior Horses

Cons: No cons!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

lori j.
Flag
Rating: 5

Life saver! for older horses

posted 6 years ago

This gave my old rescue stallion a new lease on life and I believe it is why we had many extra enjoyable years from him. Started as a rescue, had few teeth left that weren't lost from field breeding mares for years. Quick weight gain and maintained his weight. He start to choke on dry foods and this made and excellent mash. I now have two 2o plus year old mares who are still rideable and and can be kept at a good weight, now matter what pasture condition ( terrible with the drought) and what quality of hay is available. Its been a year of poor pasture and poor hay quality and the girls are health and happy. I have tried other senior products and always come back to this one.

Pros: helped old stallion maintain weight w/ no teeth

Cons: can be costly

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 13 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›