Product:
Purina Equine Senior
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 99 reviews.

More Products By Purina:
Purina JM Canine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

healthy life nutrition
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Purina One Hairball relief
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (279) ›

Similar Products:
Purina Amplify
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 48 reviews.

Equine Jewel Rice
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 24 reviews.

lmf low carb grain
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 24 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

62 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 13 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Susan O.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for your older horse

posted 6 years ago

I used this product for several years for my senior morgan horses. I would highly recommend!

Pros: Great for seniors

Cons: None

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kathy r.
Flag
Rating: 5

Horse was happy

posted 6 years ago

We bought this when we tried a different feed store and they didn't sell our normal brand. Our horse seemed to have no side affects from the change and ate it without a problem

Pros: horse seemed to eat

Cons: none

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ed D.
Flag
Rating: 1

Almost tooth less horse

posted 6 years ago

We have a 28 yr old QH that has almost lost all his back teeth. We tried him on some other brands, which he would not eat or only when he was about to starve.
We ended up getting him some Equine Senior and he loves it. We use it for a supplemental food in the winter feeding it to him twice a day. As for hay he gets what he can eat, and the two pastures he have him in he can craze to his hearts content.
Put the Equine Senior makes sure he gets all the vitamins/minerals he needs.

Pros: Easy to feed

Cons: can be clumpy at times, which need to be broke up.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stormyknight
Flag
Rating: 4

Did fairly well

posted 7 years ago

This formula got weight on my hard-to-keep-fat senior horse rather quickly. However, after a few weeks, the higher sugar content made him kind of "hot" and we had to pull him off of it. I have seen it work wonders on other horses that are skinny.

Pros: got weight on an older, hard keeper

Cons: ingredient effect

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Diane C.
Flag
Rating: 4

Used in combo feed regime for my seniors

posted 5 years ago

I have a 31yr old pony and a 32yr old arab. The pony has little teeth and quits hay/grass. The senior feed ensures proper levels of vitamins and minerals seniors need. I also add a little strategy to help with coat and weight. Due to him unable to eat Hay/grass, I add horse chow 100 to give the fiber missing from lack of hay/grass. I also give him a weight builder for extra fat needed to maintain weight. The 32yr old arab is a hard keeper with weight. He gets Ultium with Equine Senior. I also add a little of horse chow 100 since I noticed he quits at times. I add Weight builder and add water to make a mesh as well. I only buy top quality 3rd cutting grass mix to ensure it is soft enough for my seniors. Orie tends to keep better weight w/this feeding regime. The top line is lacking a bit, but the under carriage is full and round. Over all, the feed provides what is needed for the seniors. It lacks the ability to maintain good body weight for the ancient and requires supplementing to ensure proper weight maintenance. I don't care for the sweet feed type food, but I add it to other food to ensure proper vitamin and mineral requirements for seniors.

Pros: Has essential vitamins and minerals needs for seniors

Cons: Does not help to maintain weight and comes in sweet feed type food

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 13 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›