Product:
Baby food
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 48 reviews.

Similar Products:
Fancy Feast White Meat Chicken Appetizer

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Royal Canin Special 33 Feline Nutrition
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 9 reviews.

O&M VIP Ultimate Nutrition for Cats
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

29 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Arb1752
Flag
Rating: 4

Good for bland diet

posted 6 years ago

if your pet is recovering from an illness or surgery this is really good for them very bland low salt

Pros: good for sick animals

Cons: none

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tammyg
Flag
Rating: 4

Might Help Get Your Sick Kitty to Eat

posted 6 years ago

When one of my cats was sick and not eating (and also not drinking much), I gave him baby food. He did not gobble it down but he did give it a few licks and ingested a little bit. The food is very soft and so does not take a lot of effort to eat. Once it is in cat's mouth, it just kind of slides on down his throat without chewing/effort...

Pros: helpful if your cat is sick and not eating

Cons: none

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Amanda J.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for older dogs!

posted 6 years ago

I just thank God that Dr. Jerry Smith at the By-pass Animal clinic told me about meat baby foods. It had never crossed my mind before, and I was at my wits end trying to find something that Fred would eat. He's 17, and he suddenly decided he did not like his regular canned food anymore.

So, for a while we got by on bacon and eggs. Then he decided he didn't like eggs, then bacon. Then we tried all kinds of other stuff, and he turned his nose up at everything. Until we tried BeechNut Beef baby food. It's his favorite now for over 6 months! It has been a life saver for me. He also likes Gerber Ham, but the Chicken and Turkey varieties make him throw up.

Now I keep half the stock of baby food in the fridge and half room temp. When it's cold, you can cut it up into soft chunks that are easy for a dog with no teeth to chew. When he doesn't feel like chunks, he can just lick the room temp. baby food from a spoon. A perfect solution for us!

Pros: Nutritious, perfect texture for older dogs w/o teeth

Cons: Not-so-solid bowel movements

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Colin  S.
Flag
Rating: 3

Good for sick dogs

posted 6 years ago

if your dog wont eat good for sick dogs easy on stomach

Pros: poor eating

Cons: n/a

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stanggrrlpgh
Flag
Rating: 3

Baby Food Is A Viable Option

posted 6 years ago

Baby food is a good alternative to feed ing a cat, dog or ferret. Be careful to select a brand that does not contain too many fillers (cornstarch, wheat). In addition, if you are feeding a cat moist food, adding a dab or 2 of squash baby food into the food will give them some good digestible fiber that can help pass along furballs.

A good recipe for cat or dog is some homecooked chicken (boiled, poached roasted) cut up, add in the chopped gizzard, heart, liver, add a dab or 2 of pumpkin or squash, and then add chicken baby food to tuna salad-like consistence. Good for kittens, adult cats with dental issues, or a general treat for cat, dog or ferret. Can also be used with turkey (turkey baby food), beef and lamb.

Baby food is also a good choice if you are traveling and don't want to deal with the mess/stench of regular pet food.

Pros: Inexpensive, convenient

Cons: Can contain too many additives

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›