Product:
Hill's Science Diet Light Adult Breed Dog Food
Rating: 3.3

Average rating from 3 reviews.

More Products By Hill's Science Diet:
Simple Essentials Treats Immunity Support
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Simple Essentials Treats Oral Care
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Hill's Science Diet Indoor Cat Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (137) ›

Similar Products:
Greenies Pill Pockets

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 50 reviews.

Aunt Jeni Raw Diet
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Cloud Star Farmstand Slices Dog Treats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

17 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
betty p.
Flag
Rating: 4

So far so good

posted 6 years ago

Hill's Science Diet has been around for several years. They make a great prescription diet for several diseases and things. So when Hrothgar was on R/D for weight loss, the vet switched him off the prescription and to a light formula. We decided to go with Science diet since it was the same company as the R/D.

So far, we have not had any problems with Hrothgar eating it or the other 2 dogs since they always eat what Hrothgar does.

Hill's Science Diet works for now.

Pros: name brand

Cons: not the best

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jonie
Flag
Rating: 4

Ok I guess

posted 6 years ago

mason would eat it but it was his last resort.......

Pros: good for the dog

Cons: must not tase good

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

George P.
Flag
Rating: 4

Making the switch

posted 6 years ago

Hrothgar has been on Science Diet R/D for a while. It is a presciption diet by the vet to lose weight. Since he has lost the weight, the vet wants us to switch to Science Diet Light to get him off the R/D. Once we do that for a little while, we can then go to any brand we want.

So with the vet telling us what to do with Hrothgar's food, we will listen as we think she knows best.

Pros: vets approved

Cons: price

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jcooper
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for slightly overweight dogs

posted 6 years ago

I have used this in 2 different dogs (one wasn't even large breed) and it works great. Both just needed to lose 5% of their body weight so they could have waists again. I'd tried portion control with other foods but they were left feeling hungry and unsatisfied. With this food, I can put more in their bowl but it's actually less food (bigger pieces). Plus, the size of the pieces forces them to slow down and actually chew. This food was the answer to all my problems-- well, at least weight control for the dogs!

Pros: Palatability

Cons: Price

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Richard S.
Flag
Rating: 2

WAY too much grain

posted 6 years ago

Science Diet has so many people snowed & I can't figure out why. We were sent home with a couple of bags of this when we got our Jessee & Mr. Snuffles from the Animal Rescue League. 98% of it is grain: corn, 500 kinds of rice... a dog that needs to lose weight needs NO grain. If you buy Science Diet food, you are paying way too much.

Pros: Better than some foods

Cons: Way too much grain

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›