Product:
More Products By Natural Balance:
Natural Balance Dog Food Rolls Beef Formula
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Natural Balance Turkey Formula Dog Food Rolls
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Natural Balance Tillman's Training Tips Dog Treats

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (66) ›

Similar Products:
Greenies Pill Pockets

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 50 reviews.

Aunt Jeni Raw Diet
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Cloud Star Farmstand Slices Dog Treats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

69 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 14 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Ed D.
Flag
Rating: 2

Is your dog a human?

posted 6 years ago

If this product works for your dogs, don't read this review.

The digestive system is one area where dogs' and cats' bodies are quite different from humans'. A dog's stomach chemistry is much, much more acid than ours. And their intestines are much shorter.

In other words, they're set up to process meat. Getting nutrients out of grain requires more time, and so longer intestines.

> an excellent source of carbohydrates

In the form of grains, yes. Carbs aren't actually important to dogs. Don't be thinking about human nutrition when you read about dog food. It's humans that read the labels about attractive, appetizing ingredients, and that's who the PR is written for. Think, "What would a carnivore eat?"

Okay, rice is the first ingredient. I don't like rice as a grain because there are so many contaminated sources for it that I'd rather just avoid it all together.

Natural Balance dry food was NOT involved in the contamination crisis, though. So pray that their manufacturer keeps getting rice from good sources.

But pearled barley is just like white rice. It's only part of the grain, and not the most nutritious part at that. Potato protein? Why not just dump more potatoes in? Well, because part of a food costs more than a whole food.

In my opinion, this is about the lowest-quality dry food that Natural Balance makes. Not because there's no meat, but because of the ingredients.

Pros: Grains used are MOSTLY high-quality

Cons: Meatless food for carnivores

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

stephen s.
Flag
Rating: 5

Love this product

posted 6 years ago

You won't find a better food if you want
natural ingredients and fewere additives.
Also the price is not too expensive.

Pros: Dick Patten's Food really is Natural

Cons: none

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Nicbby
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for dogs with allergies

posted 6 years ago

I switched my Golden Retriever over to this brand after she started licking her paws all the time. After taking her to the vet they suggested that I take her off of chicken based food and this brand worked very well for her. Her licking subsided and she really enjoyed this product

Pros: No chicken

Cons: n/a

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anna
Flag
Rating: 4

Most of them liked it...

posted 6 years ago

I split the sample I got, with my 6 dogs so they all could have a taste of it. Three of them gobbled it down. The fourth after checking it out ate hers. The other 2, which are chihuahua's wasn't quite sure about it, but they did finally eat their share after hesitating. They are picky eaters. As for any change out of them, I couldn't tell a difference. I am sure if I went out and bought a large bag, I would be able to tell more of a difference in them. I think my one dog, might have allergies, based on his scratching, tail biting, chewing feet, and also has some problems with his ears. I would take it in consideration to maybe buy a bag, if it would help him out, after talking to my veternarian of course to see if that is the case. But overall, they all ate it and seemed to like it.

Pros: The size is okay for small dogs, not too big and not too small

Cons: Not big enough bad for a sample to give the best review, when you have multiple dogs and want all their opionions

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

KatLin
Flag
Rating: 4

Barney did really well on this

posted 5 years ago

Barney has very bad allergies. He chews his feet gets bad ear infections and itches. I started using this product and after a month or less his symptoms decresed. They didn't stop completely but finding something hes not alergic to is a trick and a half. I had him on it for about 2 yrs. My living situation changed though and like many cut backs had to be made. The price is just out of my financial resources allowances. He has/ had no other health issues on this food. He is 11 and his teeth are perfect he's never needed a professional cleaning the vet is very impressed. His coat was also really shiney and healthy inspite of the itching hes had. I personally liked having him on this diet and wish I could put him back on it. The 4 rating is strictly pric.

Pros: chewing of paws and itching decresed

Cons: price was to high for me to keep him on it

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 14 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›