Product:
Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 47 reviews.

Similar Products:
My Guy Barbaro
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

More Old Friends
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Ruffian
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

26 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Marilyn H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Seabiscuit race horse

posted 6 years ago

I think that if you have not read the book or seen the movie, you will better understand the movie if you read the book first. There is a lot of history to be told in the book and a lot of "behind the scenes" information that will help you get the most enjoyment of the movie. I think the story of Seabiscuit is remarkable and shows that you can go from rags to riches when the right chance comes along. Seabiscuit will be a legend forever.

Pros: Gives interesting insight about horse racing from long ago

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kathleen H.
Flag
Rating: 5

My Dad loved it

posted 6 years ago

My Dad watched the movie and then, gasp, read the book. We had Thoroughbred race horses for years and he knew some of the people involved. He really enjoyed it.

I thought it was good that they pointed out at the end what happened to the characters. So often, they are unable to substain their rise to glory and can't handle the crash. I think people often forget that stars do burn out eventually.

Pros: showed both the positive and negative of racing

Cons: showed both the positive and negative of racing

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Astievia
Flag
Rating: 5

Winning book

posted 6 years ago

This is a really good, well written book. I enjoyed learning about Seabiciut and his trials. The person who wrote it must have known a lot about horses. I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros: interesting

Cons: no cons, a awesome book!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tammyg
Flag
Rating: 5

Inspirational

posted 6 years ago

Inspirational story -- book was great, as was the movie. Beautiful story for any animal lover

Pros: good read

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mary L.
Flag
Rating: 4

Very informative

posted 5 years ago

This book is great, it is not the kind that you cannot put down, though. Except for the description of the races. It taught me about a whole new realm of horseracing and jockies that I had no idea of. It is much better than the movie.

Pros: gives a new perspective

Cons: a little too like a school book

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›