Product:
My Guy Barbaro
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Similar Products:
More Old Friends
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Ruffian
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

soul of a horse
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Lynne F.
Flag
Rating: 5

Very enjoyable read

posted 5 years ago

I was one of the many, many people watching the Preakness in 2006 with great anticipation of a new Triple Crown Winner when Barbaro was pulled up. Most of us know the rest...How we all thought he was going to make it...I have always felt that Edgar Prado is one of racing's more admirable, responsible jockeys. I think he truly cares about the horse & will always put his mount ahead of his own career. The way he acted toward Barbaro while he was in New Bolton & now his book bore out these feelings. First, we learn more personal information about Edgar & his family, his coming to the U.S, his mother's cancer & of course, his relationship with Barbaro, which was so touching. We get to see Barbaro from his point of view from first meeting to last. He brings you onto the track & into the barn. One word of warning: This book will engage your emotions! But it's well worth it. And the cover is so beautiful too!

Pros: Very readable, personal account

Cons: That it had to be written...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DawnG01
Flag
Rating: 5

Edgar Prado loves Barbaro

posted 5 years ago

I knew nothing about Barbaro or his jockey, Edgar Prado, until watching the Preakness, May 2006.
After that day, I followed Barbaro daily until he was euthanized due to his devastating injury racing in the Preakness. And I came to know the most beautiful man, Edgar Prado. In this book he writes of his relationship with Barbaro and how this magnificent horse changed his life. A true love story. And reading this book, I have come to know more and more about Barbaro, a horse I love and adore, forever. R.I.P. Beautiful Boy.

Pros: From Prado's heart

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Karla F.
Flag
Rating: 5

By the Guy Who Knows

posted 5 years ago

This is a lovely, but heartbreaking story written by Barbaro's jockey. Mr. Prado is a loving, caring individual and his personality shines through as he describes his life and his love for Barbaro.

It is a must-read for FOBs, horse lovers and anyone wishing to hear about the amazing relationship between this jockey and his horse, a telling of triumph and tragedy.

Not only is it a story of winning, but more importantly, a story of love, endurance, strength, hope, trust and the ability to believe in miracles.

Pros: A Wonderful Book for All

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mary  D.
Flag
Rating: 5

Excellent Read

posted 5 years ago

Edgar Prado is one of my favorite jockeys and Barbaro one of my favorite horses. Both have very inspiring stories to tell so I really enjoyed this book. It was hard to read such a sad tale but also very inspiring, and the love between human and horse was very heartwarming. There is much to be learned from this book about living and leaving a legacy for those that follow behind. Great job Edgar for having the courage to write this book and tell the story as seen through your eyes!

Pros: Great book about a wonderful jockey and amazing horse

Cons: Not enough info about Edgar Prado growing up

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

daryl b.
Flag
Rating: 5

Terrific

posted 5 years ago

this book is a tearjerker especiall for those who saw it happen and followed the hopeful recovery. the barboro story is a sad one because he could have been one of the great horses in racing history. it is such a shame it turned out the way it did

Pros: all

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›