Product:
Whole Dog Journal
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 89 reviews.

Similar Products:
New Parent Guide
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Ray Allen Magazine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

September Issue of Chicagoland Tails
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

61 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 13 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Eric G.
Flag
Rating: 4

Great Information for Dog People

posted 5 years ago

The Whole Dog Journal's annual dog food reviews are a must read for any dog person, professional or not. WDJ also runs regular articles on training, health and sports.

The only con is sometimes the articles tend to wander off into unscientific territory on things like holisitic medicine, diet and other "alternative" therapies, so critical reading is recommended....but that's good policy for anything, isn't it?

Pros: Great information for any dog person.

Cons: A little heavy on the "woo" at times.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Linda C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Recommend Whole Dog Journal

posted 6 years ago

I really enjoy this publication and read every one cover to cover. It is solid information - no ads - and easy to read and understand. As useful for the professional as the casual pet owner, in my opinion. They ask that you not copy articles, but purchase them instead, as they use no advertisers. The knowledge gained from reading the articles, though, is well worth the subscription cost.

Pros: easy to read, sensible, no advertising

Cons: can't copy articles for personal use

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Paradisedog
Flag
Rating: 4

In-depth

posted 5 years ago

Whole Dog Journal is an extremely in-depth journal. This is not cutesy or light reading. A great source for information. The articles are written at a high level, not just as fluff or filler.

I share a subscription with a friend. We often will discuss the articles and share information learned or strengthened with other friends.

Get this journal to provide un-biased info.

Pros: Good coverage

Cons: see review

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Monkeycat
Flag
Rating: 5

Super information

posted 6 years ago

Fantastic resource if you are interested in alternative medicine. The dog food reviews are invaluable, especially after the poisonous dog food debacle of the last couple of years. I am interested in natural remedies, and find some of the info in here helpful for me as well as for my dog! Very interesting; this is the kind of publication you save to refer too for years.

Pros: Very in depth journal

Cons: Only for those really dedicated to holistic pet care

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anne S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great reference magazine

posted 6 years ago

I have found at least one or two articles in each Whole Dog Journal that has provided information that I can use for both my dog and the dogs that I work with at the shelter. The articles on dog food and different options for best feeding as well as the training tips are great. It also touches frequently on addressing the needs of an aging dog. Very helpful.

Pros: updated information on diet and training

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 13 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›