Product:
Equus Magazine
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 65 reviews.

Similar Products:
Rural Heritage
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

The Trail Rider
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Young Rider
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 27 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

37 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 8 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
jan l.
Flag
Rating: 5

Very Informative Magazine

posted 6 years ago

We have had a subscription to this magazine for several years. It is full of information and photos, and covers many disciplines in the horse world. It also helps keep you informed of upcoming events and all the newest things and ideas. We would really miss this magazine if we didn't get it anymore.

Pros: full of information

Cons: none

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

RemarkablySpecial
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for new and experienced horse owners

posted 5 years ago

In the past I've been an EMT and worked as an ER nurse so when our daughter got a horse I went in search of a good source of medical information. I found this magazine and have been very pleased with the content of the feature articles as well as the columns (departments).

The December issues covered such topics as the "natural" approach to navicular syndrome, winter turn out, how to wrap a hoof, how to identify stocking up, helping horses with heaves and recent medical updates.

Each month they have a column called Vital Skills which teaches you step-by-step how to do various first aid and other medical procedures on your horse. Case report usually highlights a specific animal being treated for a specific disease or injury. They also provide you with a glossary of terms used in each issues, they've really thought of everything, very users friendly!

After reading a few issues I felt that it was valuable enough to seek out and purchase several years of back issues off of EBay. They also maintain a website from which you can download a number of valuable items including previously published Vital Skills sheets: Equusmagazine.com

Pros: Informative articles with color illustrations at a reasonable price.

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Foovay
Flag
Rating: 5

My favorite horse magazine

posted 5 years ago

This is my favorite horse magazine. I love the wide range of articles, and the all inclusiveness. I have written western, english, and racing horses, and also love the gaited breeds - I can find out a little about all of them here, as well as a great deal of excellent general information, and the latest news. If I were to subscribe to only one horse magazine, this would be my first choice. As an artist, I love the beautiful photography - Equus is the "Life" of the horse magazine world.

Pros: wide range of articles, beautiful photographs

Cons: price

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Judith  N.
Flag
Rating: 5

Informative

posted 6 years ago

When my husband decided to buy a horse many years ago not knowing a things about them I got real busy right away trying to learn all I could. This magazine was very helpful.

Pros: Knowledge is power

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bella C.
Flag
Rating: 3

Interesting

posted 5 years ago

So half is good interesting half is holistic and untrue. Basically in every article they say you should let your horse be in constant pain because ALL horses should be barefoot.
But it can be interesting you just have to take everything with a grain of salt.
They also fudge facts to fit their agenda.
I would recommend Pratcial Horsemen or the Equestrian.

Pros: It has interesting stuff

Cons: Alot

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 8 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›