Product:
Ichthammol 20%
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 26 reviews.

Similar Products:
Shur Hoof
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Tea-tree ADE Spray
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Super H Antiseptic Powder
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

15 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Theresa
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for wounds or drawing salve

posted 6 years ago

This is a great salve for surface wounds or superficial wounds. It also works great for a drawing salve. It can be found at farm supply stores like TSC or through catalogs. Inexpensive and easy to apply.

Pros: effective, affordable, easy to find

Cons: sort of stinky, messy

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

vada m.
Flag
Rating: 4

Drawing salve

posted 6 years ago

This is a good drawing salve for abcesses. Ok for smaller cuts and abrasions also. Do not use on the big ouchies, call for vet advise for in those cases.

Pros: works well

Cons: smells

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rebekah S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for hoof abscesses

posted 6 years ago

I have a horse with a significant history of hoof abscesses. I use this product every time. It works great to draw the infection out of the hoof. I first soak the hoof in an Epsom salt/ warm water mixture. Then I apply the ichthammol to the area. Then I put the hoof in a baby diaper and secure it with duck tape. (be sure not to apply the duct tape to tight so you don't cut off circulation.)

Pros: works great

Cons: messy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Hazeleyes262000
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Hoof Absess Healer

posted 6 years ago

This product works wonders on absesses of the hoof and great on minor cuts and abrasions. My Red Roan had a absess in her hoof, my vet recommended filling the hoof with this product and then wrapping it. With in a few days my horse was galloping around like nothing was wrong with her hoof.

Pros: Works

Cons: Sometimes Gets messy

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lilyrose
Flag
Rating: 5

A must have

posted 5 years ago

This is always in my first aid kit. Nothing works better for an absess. Can be used on small cuts. I even use it on myself whenever I get a sliver. It draws it out painlessly. Excellent buy!

Pros: Does the job

Cons: Smelly

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›