Product:
Ichthammol 20%
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 26 reviews.

Similar Products:
Shur Hoof
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Tea-tree ADE Spray
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Super H Antiseptic Powder
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

15 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Theresa
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for wounds or drawing salve

posted 6 years ago

This is a great salve for surface wounds or superficial wounds. It also works great for a drawing salve. It can be found at farm supply stores like TSC or through catalogs. Inexpensive and easy to apply.

Pros: effective, affordable, easy to find

Cons: sort of stinky, messy

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

vada m.
Flag
Rating: 4

Drawing salve

posted 6 years ago

This is a good drawing salve for abcesses. Ok for smaller cuts and abrasions also. Do not use on the big ouchies, call for vet advise for in those cases.

Pros: works well

Cons: smells

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rebekah S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for hoof abscesses

posted 6 years ago

I have a horse with a significant history of hoof abscesses. I use this product every time. It works great to draw the infection out of the hoof. I first soak the hoof in an Epsom salt/ warm water mixture. Then I apply the ichthammol to the area. Then I put the hoof in a baby diaper and secure it with duck tape. (be sure not to apply the duct tape to tight so you don't cut off circulation.)

Pros: works great

Cons: messy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Hazeleyes262000
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Hoof Absess Healer

posted 6 years ago

This product works wonders on absesses of the hoof and great on minor cuts and abrasions. My Red Roan had a absess in her hoof, my vet recommended filling the hoof with this product and then wrapping it. With in a few days my horse was galloping around like nothing was wrong with her hoof.

Pros: Works

Cons: Sometimes Gets messy

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lilyrose
Flag
Rating: 5

A must have

posted 5 years ago

This is always in my first aid kit. Nothing works better for an absess. Can be used on small cuts. I even use it on myself whenever I get a sliver. It draws it out painlessly. Excellent buy!

Pros: Does the job

Cons: Smelly

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›