Product:
Epsom salts
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 40 reviews.

Similar Products:
Shur Hoof
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Tea-tree ADE Spray
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Super H Antiseptic Powder
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

18 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
vada m.
Flag
Rating: 5

Should be in every horsemans cupboard

posted 6 years ago

soak and then soak again. For the abcessed foot, this is a must have. It can save you a lot of grief by getting an abcess to come to the surface. I am never without it in my cupboard

Pros: drawing agent

Cons: use every day a must

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rebekah S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for abscesses

posted 6 years ago

Great for hoof abscesses epsom salts diluted in water help draw the infection out. Mix about a cup of salt in a bucket of very warm water and place the foot in the bucket. This takes about 20 min. 2x's a day. It usually only takes a few days for the abscess to erupt through the coronet band. If your horse is prone to abscesses I would recommend investing in a soaking boot. There are many on the market. It makes the process go much easier for nboth you and your horse.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pros: A must if your horse gets hoof abscesses

Cons: can be hard to keep the horses hoof in a bucket for treatment.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Theresa
Flag
Rating: 5

Soak, soak, soak

posted 6 years ago

We use epsom salt if we suspect an abcess in the hoof. It will help draw it out if there is indeed one. It is inexpensive and effective.

Pros: pulls out swelling, forces drainage

Cons: some horses dont like to soak hoof

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Vanrigs
Flag
Rating: 5

Good salt

posted 6 years ago

it works on humans why not horses. i've never used it on my horse but i'm going to take one to the barn just in case.

Pros: it works

Cons: none

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Madged
Flag
Rating: 5

Old time remedy

posted 7 years ago

This is an old time remedy that my dad taught me. Works great for swelling and drawing out splinters and infections in bote people and pets.

Pros: works well

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›