Product:
Round Pen
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 34 reviews.

Similar Products:
The Sonata saddle
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Crown Leather Training Surcingle
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Felt Top PRS (Pressure Release System) Pad - Black
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

19 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kyra L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great training aid

posted 5 years ago

Great for starting natural horsemanship, but don't over estimate the use of one. LOVE using a roundpen, but you need to know what you're doing and use it the right way. I think that it's easy to get lazy with a roundpen, and that's where you run into trouble. You need a decent sized one, I think the taller the better (at least 6' preferably 8'), and good solid quality.

Pros: Great training aid

Cons: Don't over use

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Liz C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Good for any horse owner to have

posted 5 years ago

Round pens are great to have whether used for training or quarantining sick or foundered horses. They are expandable or shrinkable, simply by adding or removing a fence panel. I use our pen all the time for riding pesky horses who haven't learned out to use the brakes when they are ridden out in the open. We have even used our round pen to separate beef cattle.

Pros: Versatile

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Terry F.
Flag
Rating: 5

Effective tool for training horses in a contained area

posted 5 years ago

If used correctly, a round pen is an effective tool in training horses in a contained environment. You can control the horses speed and direction and, ultimately, earn his trust so that he accepts you as the herd leader. By working with the horse in a contained environment, you don't have to chase him all over your property when he gets out of hand.

Pros: Effective training device, available in different sizes & prices

Cons: Requires assembly, heavy

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Karen W.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great & Helpful product

posted 5 years ago

I love having a round pen. They are very helpful for training young horses. The smaller area(vs. a riding arena) helps the horse to have to focus on you for training. For all horses, young or old, trained or not, having a round pen and doing certain training in it can cause you to have a deeper bond with your horse.

Pros: small area, so horse has to focus on you

Cons: too small for advanced riding

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chitown
Flag
Rating: 5

Useful for events

posted 5 years ago

Every year at the Montana State Fair I see horses, ponies, mules, llamas, donkeys, and sheep in these pens under the shade trees at the fairgrounds. Seems to me it's good for them, since there are no areas for them to feel cornered while in an exciting but unfamiliar location.

Pros: Holds animals securely

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›