Product:
Equine Salt Lick
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 38 reviews.

Similar Products:
Salt Block Pan
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 52 reviews.

Himalayan Salt Lick
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Salt Lick Holder
Rating: 3.9

Average rating from 34 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

24 reviews

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Michael B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Salt is Essential!

posted 6 years ago

A horse will only consume what they need. Salt is an essential mineral. If you give a horse a salt block they will go to town on it if they have not had it available to them. Over time they will realize the salt will be there for them and they will back off the use. We keep salt blocks in all of our horse stalls and in all the pastures. The deer, donkeys, horses and heifer all lick the blocks. I have even on occasion seen the Great Pyrenees licking them. Affordable! You can free range loose salt or block salt. Always provide fresh water to animals with salt.

Pros: essential mineral, effective, healthy

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sean
Flag
Rating: 5

Great product

posted 6 years ago

These are essential to your horse's health. They love them!!

Pros: tastes goo, cheap, lasts long

Cons: none

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Petsmylife
Flag
Rating: 5

Great

posted 6 years ago

our two horswes would only go through about 1 a year besides our vet says it is good for them.

Pros: easy to feed

Cons: none

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

vada m.
Flag
Rating: 5

Necessary for horses

posted 6 years ago

You should have salt in front of your horses 24-7 and this is an easy way to do it

Pros: all horses need this

Cons: none

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chitown
Flag
Rating: 5

Vital minerals

posted 5 years ago

I had a salt or mineral block available to my horse at all times. It lasted months, depending on the season -- longer when it was cold, when I'd supplement hay with grain that had some sodium chloride in it. Horses can sweat out sodium in large quantities in hot weather, and they must have it replenished. This is an easy way to have peace of mind about meeting that nutritional need.

Pros: Cheap insurance for horse's health

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›