Product:
Twitch Chain End
Rating: 3.6

Average rating from 19 reviews.

Similar Products:
horse sling restraints
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Fleece Halter Cover
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 5 reviews.

electric rope fencing
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

9 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Stormyknight
Flag
Rating: 2

Been there, used this

posted 6 years ago

I have used this type of twitch in extreme situations, when the horse's behavior was more likely to endanger his well-being than the pain of the twitch. I prefer other types of twitches if they need to be used. I also think it is important to remember that the twitch would be a last-resort; good training is a better tool to keep a horse responsive in stressful situations.

Pros: stops poor behavior

Cons: not an end all for behavior problems

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

SpayNneuter
Flag
Rating: 5

Good to use on trailer shy horses

posted 6 years ago

I used this on my Arabian filly when we picked her up, calmed her down alot, The twitch does not work by distracting the horse, as is sometimes thought, but instead causes the release of endorphins from the horse's brain, producing a calming effect.

Pros: Most all

Cons: Not for novice people!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lilyrose
Flag
Rating: 4

Can be a useful tool

posted 5 years ago

I have used one of these but prefer a rope twitch. The only times I have used these is on a scared injured horse. It was necessary so we could treat the horse. This way the horse did not further injure herself or those trying to treat her. The nature of the injury did not allow us to tranquilize her. Our vet was there to help us. He told us this method actually releases endorphins in the brain and calms the horse. Do not use any twitch unless you have been shown how to do it properly.

Pros: Does the job

Cons: Not to be used by a novice

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stanleys2
Flag
Rating: 5

The use of a twitch is sometimes a necessary measure

posted 6 years ago

I have had to use this form of restraint on Tatoo, my sometimes naughty mini Sicilian donkey, when the farrier arrives. This is the last step that we take in order to keep Tatoo's hooves in good shape. The twitch is applied to his upper lip and "pinches" releasing endorphins which relax and restrain him from fighting the process. My farrier can work quickly and trim him normally without problems with the use of the chain end twitch.

Pros: Helps relax my mini donkey during hoof trimming

Cons: Scarey - I've heard that it can cause nerve damage if used improperly

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Terry F.
Flag
Rating: 2

A necessary evil

posted 5 years ago

When dealing with rescue horses, many are unmanageable when it comes to giving vaccinations. To even give a vaccination to calm them can sometimes be a challenge. We use a twitch as an absolute last resort.

Pros: Calms nervous/spooky horses

Cons: Painful

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›