Product:
Horse Tamer Pro Hobble
Rating: 2.7

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Similar Products:
horse sling restraints
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Fleece Halter Cover
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 5 reviews.

electric rope fencing
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

9 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Saran814
Flag
Rating: 3

Hobbles - Use with Care

posted 6 years ago

I personally don't care for hobbles. They definitely should NEVER be used when the horse is to be left unattended. A product I wouldn't feel comfortable using myself, I personally feel that they're best left in the hands of experienced professionals. A horse can injure himself and/or his handlers if he panics when hobbled.

Pros: Effective restraint

Cons: potentially dangerous

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dstrykr
Flag
Rating: 3

Dangerous

posted 6 years ago

I agree. I have a pair of hobbles you can tell have only been used one time and I won't ever do that again.

I used it on a horse that wanted to kick while I was cleaning his sheath. He was full of beans and they had to come out, but he wouldn't stop trying to kick me.

The horse wet crazy after he realized they were on and all control was lost. Good thing we were in sand on soft ground. Even after the horse went down, it was dangerous and difficult to take the hobbles off. Never again. Buyer beware. If you don't want your horse to paw, then take the time to teach him rather than taking, what seems like, the easy way around.

Pros: Durable

Cons: Dangerous

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kyra L.
Flag
Rating: 5

I like hobbles, when used correctly,for the right reasons

posted 5 years ago

As long as used correctly, hobbles can be a useful training tool. Although I've never used for breeding a mare, I assume they would be helpful for that as well. I don't however like these - the nylon can very easily tear the skin if the horse puts up a fight. I make my own hobbles, out of extremely soft, thick cotton rope - they don't hurt the horse and they won't break or snap. As long as they are used correctly, they can be a great training tool... if used wrong it can be a disaster. NOT for use by inexperienced horse person.

Pros: Can be a good training tool

Cons: Can be used incorrectly, and cause injury

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kimberly B.
Flag
Rating: 2

Product require training

posted 7 years ago

While this product can be very helpful, I feel that this product can be very dangerous if used incorrectly or on an animal who has not be hobble trained.

Pros: very effective if used on an animal who is hobble trained

Cons: can result in injury to horse/human is not used properly

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stanleys2
Flag
Rating: 1

GOOD FOR NEW MOMS but too large for my mini jennet

posted 7 years ago

Calico Fancy, my new 1st time jennet mom, was not the friendliest mom when nursing. She kicked the newborn foal and would not allow him to nurse. I purchased the smallest sized hobbles but was unable to keep at least one of her hand legs from slipping loose. Can't we get these more adjustable?

Pros: gOOD USE FOR NEW MOMS UNWILLING TO NURSE

Cons: sizes really need worked on for minis

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›