Product:
Sand Clear
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 19 reviews.

More Products By Farnum Pet Products:
Farnam Roll On insect repellent
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

FARNAM HOME & GARDEN #3002613 Milk Jugg Trap
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Thrush XX Aersol
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

See all (29) ›

Similar Products:
Insect and fly repellent
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Strepvax II
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Equine Poultice
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

9 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Angie
Flag
Rating: 5

A great prevention for sand colic

posted 5 years ago

I first heard about sand colic from a friend at a stable when I volunteer for Therapeutic Riding Lessons. She mentioned a product that helps horses who get colic from sand. Even hay that has a lot of sand can give some horses colic. So I checked out Farnum Sand Clear on her suggestion and found it to be a good product. How is works is by softening the stool and that helps cleanse the sand from the colon. It can ordered through Dover Saddlery or purchased from your local feed store for around $18 a 3 lb bucket.

Pros: easy to use, availble online and in feed stores

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kristen F.
Flag
Rating: 5

It works!!!

posted 5 years ago

My horse starting colicing all the time this past year. With the advice of my vet, we tried worming her 5 days in a row. She still coliced and so we knew it wasnt worms so then we tried this. It worked great. I have to give it to my one mare every 2-3 weeks in the summer and then she wont colic on sand. We dont have much dirt here, and my other 3 horses have no problems. The vet said she is extra sensitive. This stuff is wonderful, I was up walking her in the dark many nights....no more.. THanks!!

Pros: Works great

Cons: NONE

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lisa A.
Flag
Rating: 5

Safe

posted 5 years ago

We lived in Arizona and were told to use sand ease when we adopted then our 2 girls. So we used it and we never had a problem with our horses and they remained healthy. A neighbor had a horse and never used sand ease and the horse died because it never got rid of the sand in its body and turned into a rock hard mass inside of it! Poor horse. After I heard this I yelled at him for not using it and taking care of the horse. I was so mad. This horse was wonderful and died because of a owner!

Pros: will save horses life

Cons: N/A

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Brad O.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great

posted 5 years ago

We had one quarter horse that was a sand eatin fool. He had to stay on this in all the months snow was not on the ground. We almost lost him after first bring him home, a week at WSU vet clinic got him back right. He went on this product and never had any more problems.

Pros: Works

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Renee  M.
Flag
Rating: 4

Product that more people should use.

posted 5 years ago

I use this product every few months, even though I don't live in a sandy area. I do have minis that are on dry lot quite a bit. It just makes me feel better to use this product every few months - an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure, right?!

Pros: Does what it's supposed to do!

Cons: My horses don't love the taste, but will eat it with something else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›