Product:
Phenylbutazone
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 22 reviews.

Similar Products:
Atropine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Thrush XX Aersol
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Diarrhea Control Gel Horse
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

14 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jessica
Flag
Rating: 5

Good for injuries

posted 6 years ago

We used this for a couple of days when my horse fell and pulled a couple muscles. It definitely helped her feel better.

Pros: good for inflamation

Cons: none

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stormyknight
Flag
Rating: 5

Keep it around

posted 7 years ago

I like to keep a syringe of "bute" around for my horses in case they come up with any extended soreness or play a little too hard outside. The anti-inflammatory properties are great as well as providing pain relief for the horse as well. Be careful about how long you use it at one time as it has been known to cause stomach problems in some horses when used for extended periods of time.

Pros: pain relief, anti-inflammatory properties

Cons: overuse can lead to ulcers

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jules67
Flag
Rating: 4

Pain reliever

posted 7 years ago

I foster and also adopt alot of senior horses and "Butte" can become your horse's best friend if you want to do alot of riding or even on a short trail ride. You just have to keep in mind that the asprin in it can eat at your horses organs so you have to try to stick to maybe just the days you have a heavy ride.

Pros: helps to aid in joint pain

Cons: not able to use on an everyday basis

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michael B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Stop the pain

posted 6 years ago

AKA Bute. This is a product we Always have on hand. We have a mare that gets gimpy after riding, so we top dress her grain to take the pain away. It is also effective if a horse is colicy or is showing signs of pain. Our vet makes sure we have tubes of paste and powder on hand at all times. We do not use injectable but have friends that do. Good product, affordable, effective.

Pros: pain relief, effective, pills, powder, paste, or injectable

Cons: can cause ulcers if used too much

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Oakiesmom
Flag
Rating: 1

Can't have a barn without it!

posted 6 years ago

I always have a bottle of "Bute" on hand. You never know when someone will spike a fever, get an injury , etc. I Always make a call to my vet and make sure that she is in agreement that Bute would be the way to go since you do not want to mask any pain symptoms that your vet would need to know when making a more serious diagnosis. I never give a horse suspected of colic bute. But for your general run of the mill scrapes and swellings - that is the way i go.

Pros: Can help with pain and swelling

Cons: can't be given for long periods of time due to stomach upset

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›