Product:
Furazone
Rating: 4.0

Average rating from 26 reviews.

Similar Products:
Atropine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Thrush XX Aersol
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Diarrhea Control Gel Horse
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

12 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Stormyknight
Flag
Rating: 5

Very helpful

posted 6 years ago

I always have a jar of furazone in my tack box for treating little cuts and nicks on my horses. It works well for do-it-yourself treatments and it stimulates skin growth to cover the wound rapidly. However, be sure to wear gloves when applying as it has be shown to cause cancer in lab animals. In addition, I no longer use this on lower legs because of its ability to create proud flesh.

Pros: effective injury treatment

Cons: possible carcinogen for humans, can create proud flesh

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Petsmylife
Flag
Rating: 5

Great stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted 6 years ago

I used this on barbed wire cuts,the wounds healed real fast.

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-09-29 00:57:48 GMT]:
we are still useing this at the shelter on the cuts on our dogs and cats.it still is one of the best

Pros: helps healing

Cons: none , really

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

vada m.
Flag
Rating: 4

Salve of powder

posted 6 years ago

Usually yellow in color, this type of furacin can come in a salve or a powder. I like the powder for a horse that is afraid for you to touch a wound, as you can "puff" in on from a short distance. Best on open wounds

Pros: ease of use

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

karen w.
Flag
Rating: 5

Can't go wrong with this stanby

posted 5 years ago

I like to use this old stanby on wounds if I want to keep them pliable and before I intend to clean the wound with water later in the day.
I have found it has a nice thick texture that I can slather all over the wound and it will protect it.
One down side is that in really dusty conditions it seems to attact dirt when not covered with a wrap.

Pros: stays soft

Cons: can attract dirt

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michael B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Mend the scrapes

posted 6 years ago

This furazone ointment can be bought at TSC or local farm supply stores. It is a good ointment to heal minor scrapes and cuts. It sticks to the area applied to. Cheap and effective.

Pros: affordable, effective, coats good, sticks to scrapes and cuts

Cons: keep away from eyes and mouth

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›