Product:
Banamine
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 26 reviews.

Similar Products:
Atropine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Thrush XX Aersol
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Diarrhea Control Gel Horse
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

19 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Bridget L.
Flag
Rating: 5

A must have for horse farms

posted 5 years ago

I recommend anyone that has a good relationship with their equine vet discuss keeping this on hand whether it is in paste form or injectable. This is an excellent drug for treating mild colic. The drawback to having this on hand is an owner grabbing it, giving it and then thinking everything will suddenly be ok. USE UNDER VETERINARY ADVICE! Very handy to have when traveling with your horse. I also dose all of my mares with Banamine post partum to help alleviate discomfort. If using injectable, this MUST be given in intraveinously - NOT IN THE MUSCLE. If you are unsure about giving an IV injection, ask your vet to teach you or simply stick with the paste. You can get generic Banamine - "Flunixamine" is what you would look for and it is identical to Banamine without the higher cost. This is a prescription drug for a reason so again, defer to your vet before using!

Pros: The Go To drug for colic issues

Cons: can mask serious symptoms

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tina R.
Flag
Rating: 5

Gotta have if you are a horse owner

posted 5 years ago

Banamine can be purchased through the vet and comes in paste and injectible forms. I always keep the past on hand and my trainer keeps the injectible on hand (although she is a certified vet tech).
I have had to use Banamine on several occasions, both where colic was the issue. HOWEVER, I always call my vet first and explain to him what is going on with the horse. I would recomend asking the vet about keeping some on hand, but always get their advise before administering.

Pros: Works miracles

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sheri  M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Must Have

posted 5 years ago

I am a firm believer in this product ,If they colic you know if they need this, if it doesnt work or give relief you know you got bigger problems, i have 2 bottles and get many phone calls for help.catch the problem in time use Banamine and you could save a vet bill and the horses life, in most cases.

Pros: Can Save a horses life

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lilyrose
Flag
Rating: 5

Very effective

posted 5 years ago

This is a very useful medication MUST be used with caution. It is available by prescription from your vet. Always consult a vet before using this product. It is great for a horse with colic, but use with care. I keep the paste on hand but it is also available an an injectible- IV only.

Pros: Works well

Cons: Can mask other symptoms

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Scmar65
Flag
Rating: 5

A Prescription Drug That You Should Keep On Hand

posted 5 years ago

Get a tube of Banamine Paste from your vet to keep on hand. This is a great help to reduce the severity of a colic episode and bring down a fever. This should be kept in every horse owners first aid kit and used under the directions of your vet.

Pros: Anti Inflammatory, Fever Reducer

Cons: Can Cause Stomach Upset If Used Frequently

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›