Product:
apple flavored bute
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 30 reviews.

Similar Products:
Atropine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Thrush XX Aersol
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Diarrhea Control Gel Horse
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

8 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
RemarkablySpecial
Flag
Rating: 5

Apple flavoring makes a difference

posted 5 years ago

Bute is an important medication to have on hand at all times. My daughter's horse got injured the day after she arrived, and we were told by our vet to give a dose ASAP. Thankfully, another boarder was willing to share their pasate with us. We've given it a number of times for a number of injuries as well as for a fever. Since our horse has been treated for an ulcer in the past we usually give Ulcergard to prevent damage to the stomach lining while the horse is on Bute. I prefer the paste over powder, because if a horse is not eating you're going to have a hard time getting them to take the powder. The apple flavoring in this new paste seems to cover up Bute's bad taste.

Pros: The apple flavor does make the Bute easier to administer.

Cons: Hard on horse's stomach lining

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kgoetz
Flag
Rating: 5

Sometimes its just what your horse needs

posted 5 years ago

Its like advil for horses. Our older horse got 1mg a day for years and it was just what he needed to stay comfortable enough to be ridden, and in turn the light excercise helped keep him more comfortable. He never had any issue with his stomache from it.
Whenever my other horse goes lame we put him on a couple mg a day for a few days and that usaully does the trick.

Pros: relieves pain

Cons: some horses develop ulcer with longterm large doses

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cathyd101
Flag
Rating: 4

Wonder Drug

posted 5 years ago

I love the powder form. With the tablets I would always have to crush it & mix in food. With the powder I can eliminate that chore. One horse will not take it in her food. Can`t fool her !! The powder easily mixes with water. I put in a syringe. Down the throat it goes. I feel she is getting the full dose. Less worry. Thank you.

Pros: Great with inflamation

Cons: Some horses don`t like medicine

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Julie w.
Flag
Rating: 5

Must have

posted 5 years ago

Something every horse owner should have on hand. It works great. I had a horse with cushings disease she could hardly walk. After we gave her bute she showed no signs of lameness. It is a great pain reliever.

Pros: very effective

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michelle T.
Flag
Rating: 4

Pain relief in a palatable form...

posted 5 years ago

I have used Bute on several occasions, and it has always been effecitve for pain relief - This medicine is great for short-term use, but can cause gastric irritation or stomach ulcers if it is used too much.

Pros: Effective pain/inflammation relief

Cons: Should not be long term dosage...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›