Product:
Hay Hooks
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 19 reviews.

Similar Products:
Montana Silversmith Lifestyles Sculptures
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 30 reviews.

STYLE 2000 - SSG® Grand Prix
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Roeckl Chester Gloves
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

13 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kristin C.
Flag
Rating: 4

Great for dragging large square bales

posted 5 years ago

I have found these are most useful when pulling down bales from a above head stack. Then I can also drag the bales to where I want to open the them up. I know they also work to break open baling twine bales (twist until snaps).

The drawbacks is that if you are not strong enough or big enough to actually pick up a bale with 2 hooks - that is a very hard/ackward task to perform with these. These are also dangerous if kids are playing around.. worry about kids falling on them and stabbing themselves.

Overall I recommend these most for pulling bales down from a highlevel and for dragging the bales around short distances!

Pros: saves hands, gives extra force for picking up or dragging bales

Cons: ackward to handle bales if not really strong

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Alicia D.
Flag
Rating: 5

Makes haying A LOT easier!

posted 5 years ago

I haven't used one of these in years, but now that I see people reviewing them, it reminded me that I used to use these when I was much younger. Our family has always bought the small square bales for our horses, and these hooks make things much easier when trying to pull bales down from up high. Talk about speeding things up! I should really invest in one of these again!

Pros: Makes pulling/moving bales much easier, inexpensive

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Shelbykellam
Flag
Rating: 5

Makes work easier

posted 5 years ago

I would recommend using hooks for chores such as unloading hay wagons and moving bails around. They prevent rope burns and a majority of the scratches and scrapes you would get with out them.

The only thing I can think they are not good for would be throwing bails around but that is easily solved by putting your hooks down for a bit.

Pros: easy to handle, save your hands

Cons: you can't really throw a bail with them

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chitown
Flag
Rating: 5

Helps move large rectangular bales

posted 5 years ago

For some reason, my one-horse neighbor doesn't like round hay bales. Every autumn he gets two tons of 75-lb rectangular bales, and my husband and I help him offload and stack the 50-odd units. These hay hooks definitely help to grab them and lessen the strain on your hands, which you notice after the first dozen!

Pros: Easy on the hands

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lilyrose
Flag
Rating: 5

Reduces work load

posted 5 years ago

When we get a load of hay, these are very handy. We usually buy about fifty-80 pound bales at a time. These help reduce the workload tremendously! I couldn't move a bale without these! Just be sure to keep them safely tucked away from small children. They are sharp! I would but these again.

Pros: Saves your hands

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›