Product:
'Animals in Translation'
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Similar Products:
Montana Silversmith Lifestyles Sculptures
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 30 reviews.

STYLE 2000 - SSG® Grand Prix
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Roeckl Chester Gloves
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

9 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Ed D.
Flag
Rating: 5

Animal behavior from a different view

posted 6 years ago

This book's full title is, Animals in Translation; Using the Mysteries of Autism to Decode Animal Behavior.

But it isn't about Temple Grandin's autism, it's about what we know about animal behavior and how we know it.

And then, ultimately, about human behavior.

She discusses dogs fairly often in it though not at length, mostly. There are a few pages on invisible fences, for example. And since Dr. Grandin is truly a world expert on containing and managing animals' physical movement, I think her view is probably the most accurate you'll find.

You may not think that you want to read about apes and sea mammals. But I think you'll want to learn about violence in chimpanzees and promiscuity in bonobos, the two species we're most closely related to.

And aggression of sea mammals, both against other species and against each other, should prove that Disney didn't create the world and that most of us don't know what we're talking about when we say, "Humans are the only creatures that...."

Animals in Translation came out in 2005. It's based on solid scientific research, which is an ongoing thing. So some of what Grandin says may be outdated.

But it's an interesting view of animal behavior you won't find anywhere else because of where the author is coming from.

Pros: Wide-ranging, solidly based on science

Cons: May cover topics you're not interested in, may be outdated here or there

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Falorties
Flag
Rating: 5

Great book

posted 6 years ago

Very good book for anyone to read. It has lots of interesting stull in it.

Pros: gets to the heart of things

Cons: none

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

LBC
Flag
LBC
Rating: 4

Buy it and share

posted 6 years ago

The chapter on selective breeding was facinating and explained a lot. As did the stuff on oganizations. Didn't expect either in picking up a book to "read" animals with. Passed it on to 2 shelter managers and they passed it on to friends. Don't make the mistake of avoiding it because of the autism in the title, its just part of the connection of nonverbal communications.

Pros: More interestingand useful information on animal behavior and why it occures

Cons: can be more detail than you want

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

HinesWardFan
Flag
Rating: 5

Unique and interesting book

posted 6 years ago

This book is really interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it an would recommend it to others. It's written by an autistic woman who has neat insight into animals and how they act and how they feel.

Pros: interesting point of view

Cons: long

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Leah G.
Flag
Rating: 5

Amazing animal studies in this book

posted 5 years ago

This book is written from a perspective that is uncommon in any other writing I've read! Temple Grandin uses her experience as an autistic person to understand the fears and feelings that animals exhibit.

She has interesting case studies, research, and anecdotes from her work in cattle facilities. Also, there are amazing sections about animal learning and the research that is done at MIT with a parrot.

I recommend this book to any animal lover.

Pros: Easy to read, interesting information

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›