Product:
Universal Drain Plug de-icer
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Similar Products:
scoop
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Corner hay rack for horse stalls
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

hanging grain/hay feeder
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Theresa
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for smaller stock tanks

posted 6 years ago

We have used these for several years. We can provide water to our horses. deer and cow with out having to break the ice off the water tank. Easy to install, unscrew the drain plug and screw this right into the plug hole. We run the electric cord through PVC to prevent the animals from chewing it. Great product that will last many years.

Pros: affordable, easy to install, no ice to break from water tanks

Cons: only seems to be effective in the smaller stock tanks

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Oakiesmom
Flag
Rating: 5

Like it

posted 6 years ago

i have in the past used the floating de-icers but have come home to have to look for them because the horses thought it might be fun to toss them to each other! So this year i bought the one that fits in the drain opening and have eliminated that problem. I like it only issue is that you have to be more carefull when scrubing the bottom of the trough or remove it whil cleaning. But i can do that - it probably takes less time than looking for the old one!

Pros: no more chopping ice

Cons: a little more work when cleaning the trough

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Alan R.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for most users

posted 6 years ago

Great product. However, if you have a low tank and a horse that loves water and paws the tank, they can easily destroy the heater. If your tank is tall enough to keep their legs out, it won't be a problem. There are sealed solid metal "doughnut" type drop-in heaters that hold up better against those challenging horses.

Pros: Works great, no fuss

Cons: Can be easily destroyed by pawing horses

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Joy S.
Flag
Rating: 5

No More Chipping Away At That Ice in Frigid Weather

posted 6 years ago

I love my DeIcer! Gone are the days of standing at the water trough with my pitchfork, shovel, or two by four! This deicer keeps my tank from getting ice on it and dont have to chop away any more. I love how its attached into the tank so you don't have to worry about one of the playful horses throwing it out of the tank!

Pros: Easy to install Keeps away that ice

Cons: Dont have any so far

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Patty W.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great product

posted 5 years ago

These heaters are great. They work really well in our 50 and 100 gallon tubs.

Pros: Work really well

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›