Product:
Calf Manna
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 36 reviews.

Similar Products:
dac Colt Grower
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Equine Power 2000
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

dac Orange Superior
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

27 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jean C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Only thing my 2-1/2 month old foal would eat!

posted 5 years ago

Many, many years ago I had an orphan foal 2-1/2 months old. She was distressed from missing her mother and wouldn't even TRY a milk replacement of any kind we had back then. I was a really new horse person and loving, but ignorant.

An old horseman suggested Calf Manna which I had doubts about because this was a filly, not a calf. The foal ignored the mixture we made up and were really wondering what to do next. We mixed it in with a little ground feed and she turned up her nose until a little girl in the neighborhood put some water into it and mixed it around with her hand. Then she stuck her fingers in the baby's mouth and lo and behold Windy started to suck the stuff off those fingers........she went on to eat it normally and survived (even a lightning strike in later years) and lived to age 23.

Pros: It worked for me

Cons: Don't know of any

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bridget L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great supplement

posted 5 years ago

This is one of my go to supplements for my halter horses. Anything that has stood the test of time for as long as Calf Manna does so for a reason - it works! I feed Calf Manna with whole oats, a 14 or 16% pelleted feed (depending on age of horse) and the appropriate dac product for that animal.....that's it and it works! DO NOT just dump a scoop of Calf Manna on your horse's food - a cup is all you need so a bag will last one horse a loooong time. This versatile supplement can also be given to other species - check the label for specifics. My chickens are very fond of it too!!! Available at most Tractor Supply Stores and Agways.

Pros: Does a great job when conditioning a horse for sale/show

Cons: MEASURE MEASURE MEASURE

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michelle T.
Flag
Rating: 5

Effective supplement for horses!

posted 5 years ago

This supplement has withstood the "test of time" because it works! Horse love the taste and it is safe and effective for weight gain and nutrients. I helped someone with an older roping horse that had lost his body condition; after 3-4 weeks on the Calf Manna supplement, he looked fantastic!

Pros: Effective; palatable; safe

Cons: Measure for the best use

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kelly C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great product

posted 5 years ago

This is one of my favorite supplements to put weight on younger horses. I'm reluctant to use it on my senior mare (24) though - have heard it's too concentrated for her system.

I did have one neighbor who almost lost her horse using it - but she did not read the directions and fed it as you would pelleted feed rather than as a supplement.

Pros: Price and effectiveness

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

nan m.
Flag
Rating: 5

Helps even grown horses

posted 5 years ago

At the shelter we often get horses that have been badly abused and starved. We have found that if we give them calf manna along with their other food it helps fatten them up faster. We have had some horses come to us that were so weak they couldn't stand and had to be put in a sling until they gained their strength back.

Pros: great for foals as welll as grown horses

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›