Product:
Horses For Dummies
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 21 reviews.

Similar Products:
First Aid for Horses: The essential quick-reference guide
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Animals in Translation
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Caring for Your Miniature Donkey
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

13 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
kathy s.
Flag
Rating: 5

Fun stuff

posted 6 years ago

this is a great gift for the young person who needs to understand about caring for their horse and or for someone that needs to gain some knowledge with out being overwhelmed with explanations that are too detailed this book breaks it done for dummies such as i or it me

Pros: yes many

Cons: just for the above novice

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Vanrigs
Flag
Rating: 1

Good for my son

posted 6 years ago

i got the book for me and my son. we both needed to know more about horses. now were no longer dummies.

Pros: he learned alot.

Cons: none

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Susan L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Good series for beginners

posted 6 years ago

I really like these books for beginners, and they come in almost any subject.

Pros: informative

Cons: none

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Melissa G.
Flag
Rating: 5

Not just for Dummies

posted 6 years ago

I'm a horse person, always have been, always will be. My husband never owned a horse until he decided to buy me one. As a joke I bought him the book and was pleasantly surprised that it was very helpful not only for him but for things I wasn't fully educated on, despite years of experience. A wonderful primer for anyone who wants to buy a horse but is intimidated by everything that is needed - from size of grazing area, to shelter and feed through grooming, tack and riding - every subject is touched on in enough detail to help the newcomer and the experienced rider.

Pros: easy to understand, easy to follow, well laid out, no nonsense

Cons: a bit ranty on people who shouldn't have purchased horses

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lauren B.
Flag
Rating: 4

Mix this book with hands-on horse experience for a good start with horses

posted 5 years ago

Years ago, when my daughter was first starting to ride, I read this book. I told her instructor that this book scared me and that my daughter would not get a horse until she could take care of it herself! The part that really scared me was Section IV: Caring for Your Horse. A horse is a lot of work and can have a lot of potential problems. Now, after years of great hands-on horse experience, she will soon be ready to buy her first horse (after college.) This book will STILL come in handy especially Section IV: Caring for Your Horse.

Pros: A good book especially Section IV: Caring for Your Horse

Cons: but it doesn't beat plenty of hands-on horse experience

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›