Product:
Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filter 10i
Rating: 3.7

Average rating from 17 reviews.

More Products By Tetra:
Tetra JumboMin Cichlid Sticks
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Tetra Variety Sticks
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Refillable Media Cartridge for Penquin 200 350 Filters
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 14 reviews.

See all (286) ›

Similar Products:
Refillable Media Cartridge for Penquin 200 350 Filters
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 14 reviews.

FILSTAR XP4 CANISTER FILTER
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Sealed Motor Switch Assembly for Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

14 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Disotellx2
Flag
Rating: 4

Too big for our tank

posted 6 years ago

It is a nice filter but we only have a five gallon tank and it sucked up most of the food. Needs a larger tank.

Pros: quite

Cons: too big

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kirsten
Flag
Rating: 3

Clogs easily

posted 6 years ago

I had one of these that came with my 5 gal tank. this filter took up half the tank! I bought a different filter for this tank and moved this filter to my 10 gal to try it out. Also the intake got clogged up often and fish would get stuck in it, especially my bottom feeders. my cory cats would get caught up in it. And there is no way to control the flow of water or the suction.

Pros: internal filtration

Cons: clogs and takes up a lot of room in the tank

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kelly C.
Flag
Rating: 3

I must've gotten a bad one

posted 6 years ago

I just bought this filter the day before thanksgiving after I travelled to my parents house because I didn't want to bring my canister filter. It worked great while I was there, but after I got home I decided to put it in my tank and a few days ago it started making these strange loud noises for no reason. I have taken the filter apart and put it back together, but it still makes the noises once in a while. So, mine is not so quiet anymore...

-- additional:

[updated on 2007-12-12 22:09:56]:
I just went and bought another filter to replace the first one so we'll see how this one does!!

Pros: Filters very well

Cons: Mine makes crazy loud noises for no reason...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Isanosaurus
Flag
Rating: 2

Not a good solution for tropical fish aquariums

posted 6 years ago

I used the Whisper Internal Power Filter 10i in two separate aquariums and was not pleased with the results.

First, the product description is misleading. Carbon is not a good all-around filter medium. It's better used in situations where you are trying to remove discolorations from the water (like when added driftwood may be releasing tannins into your tank). You couldn't use this filter in a quarantine tank, should the need arise, simply because carbon and tropical fish medications don't mix. There are better mediums out there.

(This is an excellent article covering the advantages and disadvantages of carbon as an aquarium filter medium--http://badmanstropicalfish.com/articles/article71.html)

Carbon is also a better medium for less intense water flows, something this filter doesn't provide. I found the rate of water flow to be a little too harsh. I was able to fix this by blocking the output lip with a Bio-Chem star, but this was still a bit disruptive.

This filter clogged very quickly with. I think it has to do with how close the intake is to the motor. Perhaps if the intake was designed in a way that it could be covered to prevent it from taking in so much debris, it would be better suited.

It seemed like I needed to replace the filter cartridges too often as well.

Overall, I was very disappointed with this filter. For the same price, I was able to purchase a sponge filter which did a much better job, and could be used in different tank situations (quarantine, fry, etc.).

Pros: Quiet

Cons: Clogged easily, too much water flow

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rebecca
Flag
Rating: 5

A waterfall effect

posted 6 years ago

This is my favorite filter for my turtles. I use 2 in their tank and they provide a nice waterfall effect that the turtles love and it is still quiet. They have also started selling the filters at Walmart so they are even cheaper now. A great filter.

Pros: quiet and cheap

Cons: none

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›