Product:
Similar Products:
CHARCOAL FOR AQUACLEAR
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

FILTER CLEAN BRUSH
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Scott K.
Flag
Rating: 5

Works Great - Cheaper Alternative

posted 6 years ago

These direct replacement cartridges work great, no question about it. However, there are cheaper alternatives... Take the filter media off of an old cartridge and keep the plastic piece. Purchase a bag of filter material (floss or other type) and cut to match the plastic. Just hold the two together and insert into your bio-wheel filter. The plastic keeps the filter material from sagging in the filter, and it doesn't need to be attached. If you want carbon, get a mesh bag and drop it in one of the media baskets within the filter. Little more work than the direct replacements, but a hugh cost savings. I can get about 20 filter replacements out of a $10 bag of filter floss.

Pros: Works great and bundled with active carbon!

Cons: Expensive!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

sharon d.
Flag
Rating: 5

I use the 350's

posted 5 years ago

I have two Penguin 350 Filters that I run on two of my tanks with Bottom Dwelling Breeding Bristlenose.
What I like about these filters is that you can buy multiples in a pk.,and that they really hold up well for the duration of time that I use them.It's nice to have it ready to pop right into the filter as it doesn't get any easier than that.I find that if I rinse them on occasion while I'm doing a water change,that the filter cartridges will get a lot longer life,and that the filter will continue to do a great job.I definitely think that I get my money's worth from them!

Pros: one deal pkg includes all you need

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

S A.
Flag
Rating: 5

They work great

posted 6 years ago

Yes, as the previous review said, there are cheaper alternatives. When I had 14 aquariums in my house I found ways of making a lot of things myself. I even got very good at it. But, due to a busy life, my number of aquariums has dropped back down to 2-3. I am also back to being able to spend more money and less time on maintenance. This is a great product that is very easy to change as needed (generally should be at least once a month) and it works wonderfully.

Pros: convenient

Cons: not cheap

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ihatesnow
Flag
Rating: 4

They work

posted 5 years ago

I realize there are cheaper alternatives, but these have always worked for us and are easy to use. They last about 3 weeks under normal use

Pros: none

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lourie H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Effective

posted 5 years ago

I had a couple of the Penguin brand filters and used these cartridges in them. They were very effective keeping the water clean.

Pros: I used these

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›