Product:
The Black Stallion
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 35 reviews.

Similar Products:
The Black Stallion Returns
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Longshot by Dick Francis
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

27 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Linda C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Who hasn't read this one?

posted 6 years ago

This is the first book of a series by Walter Farley that have become a favorite of many a horse crazy girl. They bring back fond memories of my childhood as I read them over as an adult to my children. The story of The Black, a wild Arabian stallion, and Alec Ramsey, the boy who gets shipwrecked on a desert island with the horse, begins a long series of stories of the wonderful relationship that develops between horse and boy. Farley's writing is wonderful - it brings you right into the story, and you get to know each character as if you were right there with them. These are timeless books that no child should grow up NOT reading!

Pros: draws you in from page 1 - great for kids and adults

Cons: not a one

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Foovay
Flag
Rating: 3

Not impressed

posted 5 years ago

Given that Walter Farley is obviously a very talented writer, I wish he had done some actual research on horses before writing this book. Even as a child, I found my enjoyment cut short by one fallacy after another about horse behavior, horse care, the horse world such as rules for entering the Kentucky Derby. This book is on the level of a wild day dream fantasy constructed by a child who knows nothing about horses except they are pretty. I always thought it was one of the worst horse books I ever read. I dipped into a few of the sequels and discarded them after a few pages, never to return.

Pros: Nice fantasy

Cons: full of incorrect facts

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jo-Anne P.
Flag
Rating: 5

My Father's Favorite

posted 5 years ago

This book series was among my father's favorite books growing up. He was very eager for me to read them when I became old enough and his excitement was evident when I picked up this book, the first in the series. Of course, I fell in love with it and I read the entire series, with my father grabbing a few he had missed in his earlier days. My father has already passed along this book to my son, hoping to get him hooked as well.

Pros: Exciting

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stevecat511
Flag
Rating: 5

A true classic!

posted 5 years ago

Walter Farley captures your attention in this story of a boy's bond with "The Black."

This book was written in 1941 and was one of my mother's first books as a child. She often told us her version of the story.

When I was 14 and got my first library card, I took this book out...I loved it. Of course, it made me cry but that just goes to show you how well Farley worded it.

A must read for anyone that loves animals!

Pros: Keeps your attention

Cons: none that I am aware

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kathy
Flag
Rating: 5

Another Classic

posted 5 years ago

Written in 1941, a true classic about the bond between a boy and his horse "The Black", which was a series of books, Alec Ramsay is the main character along with "The Black". Anyone who loves horses, what a great book to pick up and read. There were also a couple of movies made about the great Stallion.

Pros: great characters, good plots

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›