Product:
My Friend Flicka
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Similar Products:
The Black Stallion Returns
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Longshot by Dick Francis
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

16 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kathy
Flag
Rating: 5

The Filly Flicka

posted 5 years ago

This book wrote by Mary Ohara in 1941 about a boy and his filly Flicka, the horse is injured and gets really sick, fever, infection so bad that she will be put down, the night before the horse gets loose and falls in a stream, Rob (the boy) sits all night with her, he himself nearly getting sick, the fever goes down, the horse is saved. Great reading
This book was made into a movie in 1943 and stared Roddy McDowell, later a TV series 1956-58.

Pros: All about the love of a boy and his horse

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Diane C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Memories

posted 5 years ago

What a wonderful, wonderful book. I don't think there were any kids on my block who hadn't read this & wanted a horse. I finally bought mine when I was in my 20's, & worked at the stables in my young teens-what a wonderful life owning a horse......

Pros: ALL GOOD

Cons: NONE

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michele C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Childhood Favorite

posted 5 years ago

I remember reading this when I was a child. What child did NOT want a horse or pony at one time. The book teaches us so much about trust, friendship and the wonderful world of animals, if we just let them in. I consider this book a "classic"

Pros: Must Read for all Children

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Judi D.
Flag
Rating: 5

Childhood favorite

posted 5 years ago

I read this book lots of times as a kid. It was such a wonderful story. I wouldn't see the latest movie version--they made the boy into a girl and the horse was black! I couldn't get past the preview. I hope kids still read these books.

Pros: good story

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Terry F.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great reading for children & adults

posted 5 years ago

I read this a number of times as a child. It is one of those books that is just impossible to put down once you start reading it. It's really a great book for children as it shows the bond between a little boy and his horse.

Pros: Love story between a boy and his horse, well-written, classic

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›