Product:
PETCO Dog Training Clicker
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 38 reviews.

Similar Products:
Doggone Good Treat Bag
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Esbilac Emergency Feeding Kit for Dogs
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Midwest Kennel Top
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

23 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jimmie48
Flag
Rating: 5

Works well

posted 6 years ago

this works real well we carrier these on us all the time

Pros: very helpful

Cons: none

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

HEATHER D.
Flag
Rating: 5

New to clicker

posted 6 years ago

I just started to get into clicker training after taking a few different shelter dogs thru a class. This clicker was inexpensive, easy to find in the store, and seems very durable.

Pros: inexpensive and durable

Cons: n/a

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kris
Flag
Rating: 4

Good training tool

posted 5 years ago

This is a decent clicker that is inexpensive and easy to find. It attaches easily to a key ring or the dog's collar so it is easy to keep it handy. I have seen clicker training work very well for many dogs. It does take practice to get the timing down with the clicking and then giving a treat. I found my dogs responded just as well to initial training with treats and then phasing out the treats and giving praise. I do recommend clicker training as a method to try when working with your dog and I think this clicker would work just as well as more expensive ones.

Pros: reinforcing to many dogs

Cons: my dogs do just as well without it

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anthony G.
Flag
Rating: 5

Click and Treat for quick training

posted 5 years ago

The whole I idea behind the clicker is to serve as a marker. It marks good or desired behavior. The key to effectively and quickly click on a behavior immedialy so the subject knows exacy hat it did that caused the treat. T'he longer the delay between the desired behavior and the click, the longer the learing process.

This is a relatively durable and inexpensive device that should be a tool used by all dog owners. T'he motivation assesement listed above is pointless. The clicker is not used and it is not intended to motivate. It is intended to mark.

Pros: loud enough for marking behavior

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jessica T.
Flag
Rating: 3

Difficult for me to click

posted 5 years ago

I got this clicker on a whim and tried it with our dog, but things did not go well. She is very skittish and the noise made her very nervous. Also, the clicker was hard for me to use as at times I didn't hit the clicker in the right spot to get the full click.
Since working at our local shelter, I have found another clicker that has a colored button to push and it provides a full, even toned click 100% of the time. That clicker makes a less harsh click and I am even able to use it with Katie and other skittish dogs.

Pros: Inexpensive, nicely colored

Cons: Hard to fully click, very loud

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›