Product:
Kong Tug Dog Toy
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 35 reviews.

More Products By Kong Co.:
Kong Wild Tails
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Cool KONG -
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (270) ›

Similar Products:
Just Paws Dog toys
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Bear Rug Squeaky Toy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Flossy Chews Glow-In-Dark
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

19 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
amy a.
Flag
Rating: 2

Not that fun!

posted 6 years ago

Our dogs like tug of war, but never with this toy! They prefer a good old fashioned rope toy, or pulling a stuffie apart during their "war". This is one of the most pristine toys lying around our house because it's rarely been touched; except for a few nibbles. Maybe other dogs like it more...

Pros: Durable!

Cons: Not that fun!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Merrell R.
Flag
Rating: 5

Safe tug toy for a little dog with alot of pull

posted 6 years ago

I wasn't sure that Gus would like this toy as he usually likes to pull on soft toys but he really really enjoys this toy and his best buddy across the street now joins him in tug of war. They drag each other around the yard on a regular basis until one gets it and then dashes around playing keep away. It is a very tough toy and they haven't made a dent in it. It seems to be standing up as well as many of the Kong toys and they still like it. Its a winner with them and is safe too.

Pros: Strong enough for rough play

Cons: None

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Smilingk9
Flag
Rating: 5

Let the games begin!

posted 6 years ago

This is one tough tug toy. This Kong tug toy is loads of fun and comfortable for both the human and the dog to play with. You can even teach two dogs to tug with each other. It can be chewed up though so it is best to only allow play when it can be supervised.

Pros: fun, engaging, two can play at once

Cons: none

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tami T.
Flag
Rating: 4

Just not into it!

posted 6 years ago

Our dogs have never really taken to any of the Kongs. This one in particular would be great for their 3-way tug-of-war battles, but I suspect they'd rather pull apart a plush carrot.

Pros: Durable

Cons: Some dogs don't care for rubber toys

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Quamada
Flag
Rating: 4

A great tug

posted 6 years ago

I have fallen in love with the Kong company, as I have a super-serious chewer. Since my dog adores playing tug, I bought this toy. I planned to use it as a reward during training sessions, rather than using treats. It is light enough that it's easy to carry around with me, although it is kind of bulky in a bag. It's also amazingly durable, as with all the Kong products I've tried.

The only thing is that the rubber seemed to feel weird to my dog's mouth. She would grab on, and then let go and look at me as if asking if it was okay. It took some time to train her to tug on that, and she will now, but not as hard and exuberantly as she tugs on cloth tugs. I don't think it cleans the teeth as well, either, but it doesn't leave strings around for me to clean up! I just didn't expect there to be a learning curve with this toy, as she's already used to chewing on her rubber toys. Since then I've learned that chewing and tugging are not the same, and the feel of the toy matters between the two!

Pros: super durable, yet light

Cons: the rubber seems to feel weird to dogs

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›