Product:
AVID microchip
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 143 reviews.

Similar Products:
Pet Tags ezpetid.com
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

EZ Tag Swap
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

K9 Scan Identification Tag
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

143 reviews

1 ... | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 ... 29 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Julienoah
Flag
Rating: 4

Great idea

posted 6 years ago

Microchips are a great idea, now we have another why of tracking animals! If we could get every one on board microshipping and checking strays for the chip we could save a lot of animals !

Pros: good why to get pets back home

Cons: not everyone uses them

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bullfrog2244
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Idea

posted 6 years ago

These avid chips are great. Every animal that is at our shelter gets one when it is adopted. They have proven to be very effective in finding owner information when we get a lost dog. Every dog that comes in is scanned for a chip. If it has a chip we can call avid and get the owner's phone number. If there is no chip then we have to hope that the animal either has tags or the owner knows to call us. These chips definately help pets and owners reunite much faster than the animals that don't have a chip. I would recommend that everyone get one for their pet, even if your pet wears a collar. It seems like they always manage to lose their collar when they get loose.
The only thing I caution about is to keep up on the news. I guess there has been an article about the possibility of linking these to health problems. I believe there still needs to be a lot more research to prove this though. I think there is more of a chance of getting cancer from your cell phone than your pet getting cancer from this chip. The electromagnetic radiation from this chip is nowhere near as powerful as your cell phone.

Pros: Great way to help your animals find their way back home

Cons: Need a special receiver to get number

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Klfowler
Flag
Rating: 5

This is such a great thing!

posted 6 years ago

We began microchipping all our cats and dogs before they are adopted from our rescue. The idea is to get a lost pet back home by identification.

This is a great idea - the only way it will work, however is if upon finding a stray or lost animal we scan it for a chip!

Pros: Great way to identify a dog!

Cons: Not all lost dogs are scanned for a chip!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

WANSTREET
Flag
Rating: 5

Great id

posted 6 years ago

I will always have my pets chipped. St Francois Society, our shelter, microchips all their animals. All you have to do to change it over is make a phone call. On several occasions we have had to go to the humane society to pick up one of our animals that someone adopted and threw away. Thank goodness for Avid. They are scanned when dumped and traced back to our shelter. Don't leave home without it.

Pros: none

Cons: none

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kristie D.
Flag
Rating: 5

We chip our shelter dogs!

posted 6 years ago

I am a huge advocate of microchipping all dogs and cats. If a dog or cat is lost without ID tags (or if the tags come off for some reason, which happened to someone I know recently - her dog was found 2 months later but could have died from starvation) the chip is the best form of identification when he is found and turned in to a vet or shelter, or the police.

Pros: Makes identification of a lost dog possible

Cons: Needle to insert the chip hurts

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 ... | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 ... 29 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›