Product:
Furminator
Rating: 4.4

Average rating from 223 reviews.

Similar Products:
FurzOff
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 8 reviews.

 Safari Dual Shedding Blade
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Furiliminator
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

146 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 30 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Maherwoman
Flag
Rating: 4

Fantastic

posted 6 years ago

I love the Furminator...it has helped my big-shedding kitty tremendously. I've also used it (gently) on my rabbits, and it works like a charm! The only drawback...they're normally around $35, so a bit on the pricey side. But once you get one, you're gonna be HOOKED!!

Pros: GREAT for getting out shedded hair

Cons: Kinda pricey

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

BZ H.
Flag
Rating: 5

I love this

posted 6 years ago

I own this product and it is fantastic. Most of my cats will come running and practically stand in line and try butting in while I am using it on another cat. It's comical to watch them wanting to take their turn to be scratched with this.

Pros: This is a fantastic product

Cons: works great

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

mARY ANN M.
Flag
Rating: 5

After reading reviews I purchased one...and it is all that is reported.

posted 6 years ago

Rabbits do not pass hairballs like cats do, and they can develop intestinal blockages from fur during shedding times so it is important to keep them brushed especially during their 4 times a year major shedding period.

I have tried numerous types of brushes and combs that were recommended. I read the numerous comments on the Furminator on zootoo and finally ordered one online.

It came a few days ago and WOW is all I can say. I got a ton of undercoat from my Netherland Dwarf who had been shedding. I did not get much from my Californian who was already through shedding, but once she starts I am expecting it to do as good of a job on her as it did on the Dwarf.

I am much less concerned that the Dwarf (more likely to suffer digestive blockages I am told) will have a problem from grooming herself since I removed tons of the shedding undercoat and some overcoat also.

I thought this product was all hype.....but it is all it is advertised to be and well worth every penny for the health of the rabbits (as well as cutting down on hair removing/lint removing sheets. Now my work lothes won't look like they are woven from animal fur.


Pros: Does wonders to get out undercoat of rabbits

Cons: Need to "empty" fur from teeth a lot

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

E P.
Flag
Rating: 5

You HAVE to try one!

posted 6 years ago

While this happens to be a dog Furminator, I had already commented on the cat one BEFORE I invested in one.

After the reviews, I thought "Oh, well I'll just pick one up" - well, STICKER SHOCK! Over $30 for a BRUSH???? But I re-read the reviews and finally bit the bullet.

My cats are ecstatic. They actually come running when I pick it up. I almost think they should be bald from all the hair in the waste bin, but their coats have never looked better.

Borrow one if you're not sure it's worth it - you're likely gonna be floored by the results.

Pros: none

Cons: none

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chgoeditor
Flag
Rating: 3

Not the "holy grail" of grooming brushes, but does a good job

posted 7 years ago

I'd read a rave review of the Furminator on another website: It's the last grooming tool I'll need. It's a miracle. It will drastically reduce grooming time.

The Furminator doesn't live up to that billing, but it does a solid job. I believe the Furminator is what you'd call an anti-shedding. It has a series of very fine teeth that work by grabbing the undercoat of an animal. So it helps to thin out their coat, not just remove loose hairs. (I know it's quite common to use these on horses, but I wasn't familiar with their use on dogs and cats until I bought the furminator.)

Yes, the furminator efficiently removes hair, but is it any more effective than my $8 brush? That's debateable. When grooming my short-haired cats, I alternate between the furminator and a cheap brush because my cats seem to get a bit irritated with the Furminator. (You need to be gentle, because those teeth can hurt!) I think it would be much more effective on an animal with a thicker coat, but if you just have a short-haired animal with "normal" coat, don't waste your money on the furminator.

Pros: High-quality product

Cons: Still time consuming to groom

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 30 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›