Similar Products:
jewelry for dog lovers
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Dog Training Solutions from the Editors of Dog Fancy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Terra Nova -The Yorkshire Terrier
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

6 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kim B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great book!

posted 4 years ago

In this book, Tamar Geller talks about how to train your dog with out pulling on the leash and things like that. She talks about gold, silver and bronze treats. She also talks about wolf and dog behavior and how it is different from human behavior but that there are times when a dog should not show its wolf behavior such as barking at inappropriate times. She talks about ways to play with your dog that are really training. She gives good explanations and it is easy to do it yourself just by reading the book. I wish I had known about this book sooner because it is a great book.

Pros: Easy to follow and understand

Cons: Can't think of any

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jennifer K.
Flag
Rating: 5

Interesting book

posted 5 years ago

I stumbled on this book by randomly choosing dog training books at my library when I first started looking for a puppy. This book is not just a great book to help with training your dog, but it is also an enjoyable book to read - not boring like some some dog training books. I didn't feel like I was reading a textbook so I enjoyed that! Tamar describes her very interesting life as well as teaching the reader how to train and raise a dog in a loving way. She uses examples of dogs she has worked with, and really makes you think about the natural behavior of dogs.

Pros: Great read, keeps you interested.

Cons: none :)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Elisa D.
Flag
Rating: 5

Terrific Book for Helping with Dog Training

posted 5 years ago

I first came across Tamar when my mom saw her on Oprah. After watching her segment, I went out and bought her book. Her philosophy and training methods have been extremely helpful/effective in training dogs. In fact, I taught my Silky Terrier how to roll over in & shake in about 20 minutes using her method. It took a little longer to teach him to pick up his toys, but her method helped me with that, too.

A must for anyone who embraces the idea that dogs want and will do whatever you want them to do, they just have to understand what you're asking first.

Pros: Dog Psychology, Positive Training, Easy & Enjoyable Read

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anne S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Enjoyable read on basic training

posted 5 years ago

I enjoyed this book on training dogs because in addition to the basic training tips she also explains how important it is to build a trusting relationship between dog and owner by making training fun and playful She also explains how dogs try to communicate to us with their body language and we need to learn how to speak their language as well as teach them select words in our vocabulary.

Pros: Stresses understanding and respect using positive reinforcement training

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Debbie
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful Book

posted 5 years ago

This is terrific book. It was especially helpful to us with three new shelter dogs. It addresses just about all of the behavioral issues we are working to resolve. I would recommend this to anyone who adopts, especially dogs who are no longer puppies and may be set in their ways.
It is a good read; entertaining as well as informative.

Pros: Very Informative, held my interest

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›