Product:
Cedar Chips
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 32 reviews.

Similar Products:
Flush Doggy Flushable Dog Poop Bags
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Eukanuba Puppy Kits
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

PETCO Fresh Pine Litter Deodorizer
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

17 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Lauren  S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for young puppies

posted 6 years ago

When fostering litters of young pups, cedar chips are what I recommend bc a friend of mine (who is a foster mom pro) said these are tops! Cedar chips have the benefit of a good scent and odor absorbtion whilst young pups or kittens learn to be paper trained. You must keep in contained area like a fenced in puppy area or whatever you use to contain a young litter or else cedar chips will be everywhere. Also, a good thing, is that you can start potty training by placing puppy pads or newspaper on top of chips.

Pros: odor control

Cons: must keep contained or else its SUPER messy!

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cornbread
Flag
Rating: 5

Great bedding

posted 6 years ago

Being that some of our kennels are outside, we use them as bedding and as a base from which to pick up poop.
The pens are easy to clean, just rake up poop with small amount of chips and trash. We use this in small areas. We use quarry sand in our big dog yards and it is a miracle worker. Just rake the poop up and the quarry sand stays put.

Pros: Clean and smells great

Cons: Not good when they get wet.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

NancyP
Flag
Rating: 4

Effective

posted 6 years ago

I used this at my first round of fostering puppies (7)in a penned area, but since then I tarp the floor, spread newspapers, and litter train. There's a lot less mess, easier to clean, and the chips aren't scattered during puppy play.

Pros: Nice Scent

Cons: Scatters

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Vanrigs
Flag
Rating: 5

Good smell

posted 6 years ago

when i have a new litter of puppies i use cedar chips in their pens it keeps the smell down also.

Pros: good for puppie pens

Cons: none

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Petsmylife
Flag
Rating: 4

Cedar smells good!

posted 6 years ago

We like to use this in the puppy pen. Looks good and is good smelling.

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-03-21 05:34:04 GMT]:
Cedar chips also have been known to stop ticks& fleas.

Pros: looks good, smell good

Cons: none

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›