Product:
Ruff Wear K-9 Float Coat Dog Flotation Device
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 100 reviews.

More Products By Ruff Wear:
Ruff Wear Approach Pack
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Ruffwear Urban Sprawl Dog Bed
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Knot-A-Long Coupler Dog Leash
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

See all (48) ›

Similar Products:
Ruffwear Floatcoat
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Cabellas 5mm Neoprene Swim Vest w/Floatation Pockets
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Paws Aboard Doggy Life Jacket

Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 92 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

73 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 15 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Dani M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Better safe than sorry.

posted 5 years ago

We got this for our pit/lab, Dale, since he LOVES to swim but doesnt always seeem to know when its time to stop. We tend to worry about that, especially since the other smaller dogs like to climb on his back and hitch a ride when he's swimming.
It wasnt hard to find a jacket that fit him but he was alittle unsure about the bulk of it? He got used to it, nothing stops him from swimming. But it has been quite useful when helping him into the boat and its bright color helps me keep an eye on him, and no on mistaking him for something to shoot at.
Overall though - we'er glad we have it.

Pros: Durable, efficient

Cons: bulky

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Linda S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Love your dog

posted 4 years ago

My son took his two dogs out on the boat with his family. The boat was drifting off and he had to swim to it, however his 14 year old Red nose (Pit) follows him everywhere. He told her to stay but if she senses trouble she'll disregard his comands. It was quite a ways out there and my son barely made it himself. He saw Chewy go under a few times and there was no way he could reach her. Fortunately she did make it and he watched her close for the next week or so. What stamina. I have been wanting to get these life vest for my own babies but haven't had to, yet. Now I instantly bought 2 vest. I told him to make sure he borrows them when they go out. I think he whole heartedly will. It's a scary thing to see your baby go under like that. A feeling he will never chance again.

Pros: Saves your Dogs life.

Cons: I can't think of any. Can you?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Di
Flag
Di
Rating: 5

The best dog life jacket out there.

posted 5 years ago

RuffWear K9 Float Coat is the best life jacket we have ever used for our dogs. We have tried cheaper models that do not fit securely, have lopsided buoyancy (can drown your dog), straps that chafe the skin, and under belly design not appropriate for all dogs. The K9 Float Coat is durable, strong, well fitted, and comfortable. Our dogs readily stand still for *dressing* in their life jackets. If on the water, the jackets are on; no question about it. Take accurate measurements and you are sure to be pleased!

Pros: Filled with EVA closed-cell high-buoyancy foam, the Ruff Wear K-9 Float Coat ensures that dogs stay afloat.

Cons: Expensive but worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jgianfagna
Flag
Rating: 5

Awesome floatcoat!

posted 5 years ago

Our goofball Shelby (pit/bulldog mix) just can't stay out of the water! She's all muscle so she tends to sink when she starts to get tired. This jacket is great for her because of the cushioned piece that fits under her neck and chin. Since her mouth is always open, it helps keep her from swallowing too much water. The handle has come in handy a time or two as well. We've tried a couple of other vests that didn't stay in place as well, so weren't safe for her. This one's a keeper! Thanks for a great product.

Pros: good fit, doesn't cause chafing, easy to spot the bright red color, Shelby doesn't mind wearing this jacket.

Cons: would only suggest adding a 3rd buckle on the underside as that would allow a more customized fit around the contour of tummy.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Terasa H.
Flag
Rating: 4

Pretty cool!

posted 5 years ago

I'll admit to thinking these things were just plain goofy.
Then we got another dog, a chocolate lab. And, believe it or not, he can't swim. If he tries, his head goes under and he sinks. Apparently he missed the memo that he's supposed to be a water dog :) And he also seemed ignorant to the fact that he cant swim, so we were forever fishing him out. We got him this lifejacket eventually. And it works awesome! So cool that I might buy my other dog one too.

Pros: works great

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 15 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›