Product:
Slip Leashes
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 24 reviews.

Similar Products:
Coastal Pet Remington Brand Nylon Traffic Leash
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Dollar General nylon leashes
Rating: 4.4

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Omni Pet Slip Leash - Fosters & Smith
Rating: 4.2

Average rating from 13 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

14 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
GeneWeyer
Flag
Rating: 5

Useful product

posted 6 years ago

slip leashes are the best for moving a dog short distances or providing a leash for the owner who forgot one. We had a couple of these for our own dog for when we travelled in the car - quick way to get him out for a potty break without having to mess with collars and snap leash

Pros: useful

Cons: not for everyday use

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

beaner50 c.
Flag
Rating: 5

Slip and go

posted 6 years ago

I prefer the slip leashes when I walk a dog. It depends on how strong your leash is whether it will work for the stronger dogs.

Pros: easy to put on

Cons: may not be strong enough for the big guys

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jodi S.
Flag
Rating: 3

Okay leash for short distances

posted 5 years ago

We used to regularly use slip leads to walk the dogs inside the building, and many eons ago we even would double-leash with them to walk the dogs outside. They're a great tool for going a short distance such as from the kennel to clinic, but they don't really work well as a regular leash. For dogs larger than about 25 pounds, you don't really have much control with a slip leash, and it's much harder to maintain a six foot distance when dogs are straining to check each other out (either in a positive OR negative way). We also had several instances of dogs managing to get away from people outside.

Overall, slip leads are a great make-shift leash for clinics and kennels where the dogs are almost always in a controlled area. However, they're definitely not as sturdy as a standard leash, so you should use caution that the dog doesn't get away.

Pros: Cheap, difficult for dog to slip out of

Cons: Difficult to maintain control over larger, stronger dogs, can be pulled out of hands without much effort

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Christy M.
Flag
Rating: 4

Concenient for shelter use

posted 5 years ago

great for taking dogs out for a quick potty at the shelter. They are always indoors (no need to go outside to the run), so I'm comfortable using it. Easy to use, tons of colors, and lasts forever. They even sit in bleach cleaning solutions and still last. Not for large dogs that are pullers as they have little control and the leash is quite short.

Pros: lasts forever

Cons: not very sturdy

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Whickums
Flag
Rating: 3

Ok in a pinch

posted 5 years ago

These little leash/collar combos are ok for quick jots to the potty runs in the shelter, but I don't trust them for anything requiring any kind of security. Even though they will tighten up if a dog tries to back out of them, it is not very hard for a dog to finagle its way out of one.

Pros: quick and easy to put together

Cons: not too hard for dogs to slip out of

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›