Product:
MIDWEST Concepts Drop Pin Crates
Rating: 3.7

Average rating from 6 reviews.

More Products By Midwest Metal:
Grooming Table without Arm
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Midwest Snapy Fit Bowl -1 Quart
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Midwest and Parrot Bird Cage
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (126) ›

Similar Products:
Pro Series Collapsible Dog Crate Gold
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 11 reviews.

MidWest Sunblock Exercise Pen Top
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Deluxe Vari-Kennel - Intermediate
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kirsten
Flag
Rating: 3

Good economy crate

posted 7 years ago

This was the first and last drop pin crate we used. Drop pin crates are ok if you are not planning on moving this crate around often. I prefer the collapsible/suitcase style over the drop pin style. The parts of the crate get bent easily and the drop pins can get lost or damaged easily, making putting this crate together a pain. It is easy to clean, like most wire crates, just spray and wipe clean.

Pros: economical

Cons: hard to put together and take apart

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

BlossomPossom
Flag
Rating: 4

Good For The Home

posted 7 years ago

This type of crate seems best for the home or permanent location. It's more stable, durable, and secure with the drop pens, and less likely to fall on your dog. I have noticed that you need to be careful with the drop pens damaging flooring.

Since this crate doesn't collapse and takes longer to assemble, I instead prefer the collapsible crates for travel, especially for dog shows, hotel rooms, and the like.

Pros: Durable, ventilation, sanitary, ease of use, secure

Cons: Not for travel

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Paul S.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good crate but they need to include plywood for larger crates

posted 6 years ago

I used this for my mastiff puppy. Overall the crate is durable and easy to clean. I was disappointed that I purchased the extra large size that specifically says it is for mastiffs, st bernards, etc, so you would think it is made to hold the weight of these dogs. The plastic tray broke along the lines of the metal and I was worried my dog would hurt himself because the plastic was sharp where it had broken. I contacted the manufacturer and they recommended putting a piece of plywood under the plastic tray, which does work in preventing it from cracking. They replaced my tray for free, but I think they need to put that recommendation in the instructions, and for 215 dollars, maybe include that with the kennel. When I purchase something marketed for extra large breeds, I expect it to be able to hold their weight without having to buy additional products.

Pros: indestructible

Cons: Tray broke due to weight of my dog

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Packleader
Flag
Rating: 5

Every pet needs it's very own home!

posted 6 years ago

We even put our kittens in a Midwest Crate! I first saw these being used at the Elmore County Humane Shelter and decided to try one at home for our new kitten....I don't know what I've done all these years without one....our kitten loves hers!....When she wants to hide away from everyone in a safe place, she goes in & takes a nap in her very own home!
And it's large enough to include a small litter box and a couple of toys in addition to her bed......We really like the way it folds flat for storage and the removable handles make it easy to move the crate for cleaning or traveling. Every pet owner needs at least one of these wonderful crates.

Pros: An ideal way to house break your puppies & kittens!

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

LAURA G.
Flag
Rating: 2

Get the folding crate

posted 6 years ago

Save up and buy the folding crate. They are only a little bit more but worth every penny!

Please remember to take you dogs collar off when you put it in the crate.

Pros: Pups are safer in crates.

Cons: Pain to put together or move

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›