Product:
DOG CAGE
Rating: 4.4

Average rating from 38 reviews.

More Products By Petmate:
Petmate Bakery Delights Nutta Butta Biscuits
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Petmate Fool-A-Bug Ant Free Pet Bowl
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Petmate Large Hooded Litter Pan

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 13 reviews.

See all (332) ›

Similar Products:
Blythe Wood Works Dog Houses
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Bergan Out Post Dog House
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Merry Pet House - Log Home-MED
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

27 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Katrina9506
Flag
Rating: 5

Good carrier

posted 6 years ago

We use this when taking our dog to the vet or anywhere else.

Pros: holds well

Cons: can turn over easy

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jimmie48
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for transport

posted 7 years ago

greatto use to transport smaller pets to the vet

Pros: great to use

Cons: none

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bright
Flag
Rating: 5

Firm believer in dog crate training and using our dogs' crates.

posted 6 years ago

I have 3 dogs who head for their crates as soon as I put my boots on, because if I am not home, that is where they feel comfortable, even if the crate doors are not closed.
The crates are from 3 different manufacturers, two wire, one plastic airline-style, all large enough for the dogs to sit in with their heads up unimpeded. Two of the dogs are over 100 lbs, their mother is about 85 lbs.
"Large enough" means that the dog can stand up, turn around completely, and should be able to lay down comfortably in the crate without being cramped. Our wire crates have slide-out trays; one is plastic, one is metal, and I definitely prefer the plastic one. It's lighter weight, has no sharp edges, and is less expensive to replace if it should ever crack. It's also quieter when the dogs step on it, and less thermo-conductive.
Our wire crates are also "drop-pin" style, meaning there are panels that all fit together at the coners and are secured together by one long wire pin at each corner. I tried the folding crate with the female pup when she was younger, and she was able to collapse the crate and get out of it. She worked the door latch on this one too (about 5 minutes after she first got in it, she was very proud of herself), so we made a long drop-pin latch with some rod stock, and now she watches carefully each time I take the rod out of the loops, but she can't reach the top or bottom of the rod from inside the crate.
The dogs had smaller crates, but had outgrown them by the time they were 8 months old. Before we had the larger crates, the dogs were housebroken, but would occupy themselves by shredding paper, or nosing into things that weren't theirs, or turning things into toys. Coming home to that would cause bad vibes between me and my dogs, and that wasn't fair to them. They had toys, but were easily distracted by things out the window, so window screens were torn, beds got jumped on, etc. They were acting like young dogs, unsupervised. As soon as I was able to, I bought the largest crates for them I could fit in our mud room.
Having the crates means I can come home and tell my dogs they were good dogs and how happy I am to see them every day, and we get to roll on the floor and do the pack greeting thing (after everybody goes outside ;-) ). The dogs quickly adapted to their new crates, with lots of praise for behaving themselves while I was gone. They often nap in their crates, take their toys to their crates, and don't like their crates moved when I clean around them. They feel secure in them.

Pros: Plastic trays safer and warmer, drop pin style more secure

Cons: Always get bigger than you think the dog needs.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Pennie
Flag
Rating: 4

Nice crate

posted 6 years ago

Carrying small animals to the vet especially can be troublesome. They get nervous and don't like being in small cages and such.

Since I have gotten one of these little crates, my rabbit does extremely well in the car. He has some of his toys and blankets and feels at home. He can see me where in a box type carrier he cannot see very well.

I can also reach in and pet him with my fingertips.

These will work for cats and very small dogs.

Pros: Handy for small pets

Cons: Can be chewed

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cougarette
Flag
Rating: 5

Multi Use

posted 7 years ago

These are useful for many reasons. You can use these to take your pet to the vet. Our cat sleeps in one of these it is his "room". He loves it in there. He goes in there every night and has a smaller litter box in there, blankets, food, and water. His own little house.

Pros: Useful for vet visits.

Cons: Doors can rust.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›