Product:
Pro Plan Extra Care Weight Management Breed
Rating: 3.5

Average rating from 6 reviews.

More Products By Pro Plan:
Pro Plan Select Natural Turkey & Barley Formula Adult Dog Food

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

pro plan sensitive skin and stomach
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Pro Plan Large Breed Adult Formula Dog Food
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

See all (96) ›

Similar Products:
Accu-Scope Microscope
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Powerflex
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Vibrant Pets Joint and Muscle Ultimate Formula
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
HEATHER D.
Flag
Rating: 3

Decent food

posted 6 years ago

This food is considered premium, but has just as many fillers and by-products as all the other brands. I was pleased with Purina for years, but switched to a more natural dry food.

Purina was one of the few brands not effected by the recall last year, which I think is great.

Pros: decent food

Cons: fillers and by-products

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Megann K.
Flag
Rating: 4

Overall a Good Dog Food

posted 6 years ago

I believe the Purina Pro Plan line to be one of very high quality. It was effective at helping my dog lose weight without a bunch of fillers (meat is the first ingredient in this food). Other weight maintenance dog foods have corn as their first ingredient. Being a husky she has a sensitive stomach and these other foods have given her diarrhea--that's not how I want my dog to lose weight. Unfortunately, my dog eventually stopped eating it. Overall, it is a good product but may not be palatable to all dogs. She is now on another Pro Plan formula (Large Breed) and she loves it!

Pros: High quality food, effective at weight loss

Cons: my dog didn't like it

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Nutmegs
Flag
Rating: 5

Golden dropped 20 pounds

posted 6 years ago

I adopted my golden from a rescue in May at a whopping 105 pounds with a strong recommendation to get his weight under control. The vet had him eating 1.5 cups with a can of green beans twice a day.

He thrived and is now, 9 months later, a svelte 86 pounds of happy, healthy, energetic golden retriever. We even decided to leave him on this formula to keep his weight down (and accomodate my enthusiasm for occassional treats). Needless to say, I've dropped a few pounds as well what with all the walking and playing we do.

I like this dog food. Even tho the serving size is small for his weight, he seems satisfied. I' ve even noticed that his coat is shiny and healthy looking - more that it was when I got him and more than my previous goldens who were not on this diet.

Great product.

Peggy

Pros: Tastee, seems to satisfy hunger, coat is gorgeous. predictable elimination

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lisa
Flag
Rating: 1

Good Product

posted 6 years ago

Added supplements like glucosamine for large dog's joints, etc. This product has all the right stuff in it.

Helps keeps my pets weight down too, which is the best thing for bigger dogs!

I highly recommend!

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-02-20 14:08:06]:
I give it a 5 star rating! Wish I could change what I missed in error.

Pros: Good for my large dogs

Cons: More expensive

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anne M.
Flag
Rating: 3

My dogs like it and it keeps their weight down so I mix it with their other dry food.

posted 6 years ago

We use this half and half with Nutro and everybody is healthy and trim. Dogs love the mixture.

Pros: Seems to help keep the dogs trim.

Cons: Fillers, etc. maybe not a "Premium" food

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›